You can enroll in the E-ZPass program online, over the phone or in person at the Golden Valley E-ZPass Customer Service Center. If you enroll online or over the phone, you will receive your E-ZPass tag in the mail within 5 to 7 business days. If you enroll in person, you will receive your tag right away.
Although Minnesota-registered E-ZPass tags are active in Minnesota immediately, these tags may take up to 48 hours to be active in other E-ZPass states.
The Minnesota E-ZPass tag is a switchable tag that allows you to switch between driving alone (single occupant), or those times when you have two or more people in the vehicle (HOV). You can also transfer your switchable tag to other vehicles. Be sure to slide it to the “single occupant” mode before driving alone during peak hours.
Clean and dry the inside of your windshield. The windshield’s temperature must be above 50º F for the E-ZPass tag to stick properly.
Place the E-ZPass tag horizontally on the inside of your windshield behind the rearview mirror approximately four inches from the top edge of windshield (one inch below rearview mirror mount) and away from any metallic window tinting film. NOTE: tag placement may vary by vehicle. The tag will not work if it is not horizontal, or if it is placed too close to window tinting containing metallic fibers.
Peel off the protective backing from the removable Dual Lock™ tabs and stick the adhesive side to the inside of the windshield. Press firmly against the glass to get a tight seal.
Dual Lock™ tab
License plate tag application
The eGo/eGo Plus License Plate Tag (LPT) should be installed at the top of the vehicle's front license plate. You can use a flat-blade or a Phillips screwdriver to attach the LPT.
1. Remove the screws from the license plate area of your front bumper. If the existing license plate does not have mounting screws, you need two self-tapping threaded screws. You may also contact E-ZPass Customer Service Center about purchasing an exterior tag accessory kit that contains tamper resistant mounting screws and a wrench.
2. Position the LPT so it is within 18 inches of the center of the front bumper.
3. Hold the LPT so the etched lettering is facing you. The LPT mounting holes are located at the top of the LPT and the TransCore logos should be upside down.
4. Fasten the LPT to the bumper using the license plate mounting screws. Install the LPT over the top area of the vehicle's front license plate.
Returning your tag
You must return any tags listed on your account before your account is closed. Mail the tag(s) to the E-ZPass Minnesota Customer Service Center. All tags listed on the account will remain active and you will be responsible for paying all tolls, citations, and fines associated with the tag until the tag is returned to the E-ZPass Minnesota Customer Service Center. Once a tag is returned, it will be deactivated, and you are not responsible for future fees or fines associated with the tag.
E-ZPass telematics transponder tags discontinued
Telematics transponders were discontinued on June 30, 2017. If you are using a telematics tag to drive in the E-ZPass lane during tolling hours, you risk getting a citation from Minnesota State Patrol. If a state trooper sees a motorist using a telematics transponder to drive in the E-ZPass lane, the old tag will be confiscated, and the driver may receive a citation up to $300. E-ZPass customers should return old telematics tag(s) as soon as possible. If your transponder has been lost or if you need a new E-ZPass tag, please call the E-ZPass Customer Service Center at 1-866-397-4334 and speak with a representative.