Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Sustainability and Public Health

Home | Committees, councils and working groups

Sustainable Transportation Advisory Council

The Sustainable Transportation Advisory Council (STAC) makes recommendations to the MnDOT Commissioner. Recommendations consist of strategies to help the agency reduce carbon pollution from transportation. This is consistent with the MnDOT statutory goals outlined in Minnesota statute 174.01, the Next Generation Energy Act, and the annual MnDOT Sustainability Report. The STAC focuses on recommendations that value equity and environmental justice.

The goal of the STAC is to help Minnesota transition to a low-carbon transportation system in a way that is consistent with statutory goals for energy and emissions reductions and maximizes benefits to Minnesota, while recognizing the importance of continued work towards improving safety, reducing inequities, and supporting economic development.

Next meeting

  • 1-3 p.m., Monday, Dec. 4, 2023 - hybrid meeting
    • B27 TEC Center
      Transportation Building
      395 John Ireland Boulevard
      St. Paul, MN
    • Join via Microsoft Teams
      • Meeting ID: 222 865 134 87
      • Passcode: bLx7zH

STAC meetings are open to the public and non-members. Time will be reserved at the meeting for the public to comment. If you are interested in participating in this meeting, please contact us.

Meeting materials


To request reasonable ADA accommodations for a MnDOT STAC meeting, please email your request to sustainability.dot@state.mn.us.


  • Chris Clark, Excel Energy (co-chair)
  • Nancy Daubenberger, MnDOT (co-chair)
  • John Brunkhorst, McLeod County
  • Diana Chaman Salas, Hennepin County
  • Katie Frye, Minnesota Power
  • Jason George, International Union of Operating Engineers Local 49
  • Mindy Granley, City of Duluth
  • Dorian Grilley, Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota
  • Dawn Hood, University of Minnesota Center for Transportation Studies
  • Brendan Jordan, Great Plains Institute
  • Adam Luhring, Minnesota Trucking Association
  • Dan Murray, American Transportation Research Institute
  • Ashwat Narayanan, Our Streets Minneapolis
  • Sam Rockwell, Move Minnesota
  • Roy Srp, City of Waseca
  • Russ Stark, City of St. Paul
  • Emma Struss, City of Bloomington
  • Jodi Teich, Stearns County
  • Lisa Thurstin, American Lung Association/Minnesota Clean Cities Coalition
  • Peter Wagenius, Sierra Club North Star Chapter
  • Mikayla Schmidt, City of Northfield

Ex-officio members

  • Rep. Kaela Berg, Minnesota House of Representatives
  • Sen. Jen McEwen, Minnesota State Senate
  • Sen. Scott Newman, Minnesota State Senate
  • Rep. Bjorn Olson, Minnesota House of Representatives
  • Charles Carlson, Metropolitan Council