District 4 - Detroit Lakes
District 4
Supporting the transportation network of west central Minnesota

District 4 Home | District 4 News/Construction | Statewide Construction | Statewide News | District Planning Studies/Projects | District Contacts

District 4 Construction


Major Projects


Moorhead HAWK signal

An explanation of the new pedestrian signal (700 KB pdf)


District 4 Information

District 4 Fact Sheet (PDF)


District 4 Manufacturers' Study

Final Report (PDF)


Regional Information

Click on your region below for more information. Or use this City Listing to find your MnDOT district.


District Offices
Mn/DOT District 1 Mn/DOT District 2 Mn/DOT District 3 Mn/DOT District 4 Metro District Mn/DOT District 6 Mn/DOT District 7 Mn/DOT District 8


District 4 — West central Minnesota

About District 4

District 4 serves Becker, Big Stone, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Mahnomen, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, and Wilkin counties. These 12 counties in west central Minnesota comprise as District 4 of MnDOT.


The headquarters are located in Detroit Lakes and Morris, and other offices are located in Alexandria, Fergus Falls and Moorhead.


More than 500 manufacturing and 400 trucking firms depend on our highway system for safe and efficient movement of goods.


The MnDOT team in District 4 plans, designs, constructs and maintains the state and federal highway systems within district boundaries. We also manage the aid and assistance given to county and city systems that qualify for state and federal dollars.


District 4 provides transit, trail and rail transportation services as well as 17 maintenance truck stations.


If you are interested in public involvement with our transportation projects, please go to District 4’s Area Transportation Partnership page for more information.



Quick Links


Statewide and District Investment Plans

Connect with us