Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Bridges and Structures

Design, construction and maintenance resources

banner

Bridge construction

Resources

Construction forms and tools

Inspector's job guide checklists

Training

Bridge plans

Bridge construction unit personnel

Bridge construction personnel by district. See table below for details.

Construction role Name Work phone Work cell Email
Construction and Maintenance
Oversight of Construction Unit
Ed Lutgen
651-366-4507 651-398-7082 edward.lutgen@state.mn.us
St. Croix Project
St. Croix project construction
Paul Kivisto
651-366-4306 651-470-9862 paul.kivisto@state.mn.us
Metro South Bridge Construction Engineer
Metro bridges south of I-94: Bridge repair recs, foundation recs, construction support, district liaison
Nate Schutte
651-366-4581 651-200-5263 nate.schutte@state.mn.us
Metro North Bridge Construction Engineer
Metro bridges on or over I-94 and 394 and north: Bridge repair recs, foundation recs, construction support, district liaison
Paul Pilarski
651-366-4563 651-485-3167 paul.pilarski@state.mn.us
North Region Bridge Construction Engineer
District 1-4: Bridge repair recs, foundation recs, construction support, district liaison
Nick Haltvick
651-366-4561 651-216-3219 nick.haltvick@state.mn.us
South Region Bridge Construction Engineer
District 6-8: Bridge repair recs, foundation recs, construction support, district liaison
Karl Gronvall
651-366-4565 651-242-6062 karl.gronvall@state.mn.us
Bridge Construction Support and Special Provisions
Bridge special provision review, development, coating performances, fielding of bridge construction questions
Mark Spafford
651-366-4564 NA mark.spafford@state.mn.us
Bridge Construction Field Support
Pile authorizations, bridge plan review, special provision review, development, bridge construction field support
Mark Mueske
651-366-4464 651-775-1126 mark.mueske@state.mn.us
Bridge Repair Scoping Engineer
Bridge repair scoping reports, BRIM support, repair or replace decision support
Dustin Thomas 651-366-4562 612-327-0268 dustin.thomas@state.mn.us