Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Bridges and Structures

Design, construction and maintenance resources

Bridge construction

Resources

Construction forms and tools

Inspector's job guide checklists

Training

Bridge plans

Bridge construction unit personnel

Bridge construction personnel by district. See table below for details.

Construction role Name Work phone Work cell Email
Construction and Maintenance
Oversight of Bridge Construction, Fabrication, Load Ratings and FC Inspection
Ed Lutgen
651-366-4507 651-398-7082 edward.lutgen@state.mn.us
Bridge Management Plans and Bridge Training Engineer
Bridge construction inspection training courses and major bridge preservation planning
Paul Kivisto
651-366-4306 651-470-9862 paul.kivisto@state.mn.us

Bridge Construction and Scoping Engineer
Management of Bridge Construction and Scoping unit

Paul Pilarski
651-366-4562 651-485-3167 paul.pilarski@state.mn.us
Metro West Bridge Construction Engineer
Metro bridges in Carver, Scott and Hennepin counties: Bridge repair recs, foundation recs, construction support, district liaison
Tony Lesch 651-366-4581 651-361-9827 tony.lesch@state.mn.us
Metro East Bridge Construction Engineer
Metro bridges in Anoka, Chisago, Dakota, Ramsey and Washington counties: Bridge repair recs, foundation recs, construction support, district liaison
Ashley Grzybowski
651-366-4563 612-518-7440 ashley.grzybowski@state.mn.us
North Region Bridge Construction Engineer
District 1-4: Bridge repair recs, foundation recs, construction support, district liaison
Nick Haltvick
651-366-4561 651-216-3219 nick.haltvick@state.mn.us
South Region Bridge Construction Engineer
District 6-8: Bridge repair recs, foundation recs, construction support, district liaison
Karl Gronvall 651-366-4565 651-242-6062 karl.gronvall@state.mn.us
Bridge Construction Support and Special Provisions
Bridge special provision review, development, coating performances, fielding of bridge construction questions
Mark Spafford
651-366-4564 NA mark.spafford@state.mn.us
Bridge Construction Field Support
Pile authorizations, bridge plan review, special provision review, development, bridge construction field support
Andrew Fritz
651-366-4464 507-259-1360 andrew.fritz@state.mn.us