Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

10-Year Capital Highway Investment Plan

MnDOT's 10-Year Capital Highway Investment Plan

What is the 10-Year CHIP?

The 10-year Capital Highway Investment Plan details MnDOT’s capital highway investments for the next ten years on the state highway network. The CHIP is updated yearly to remove projects that are currently being constructed, adjust timing of existing planned projects, and add new planned projects. The primary purpose of the document is to communicate programmed and planned capital highway projects over the next 10 years. The document serves as a check to ensure that MnDOT is meeting the investment levels and performance outcomes identified in MnDOT's 20-year State Highway Investment Plan, MnSHIP, and explains any change in direction or outcomes from the investment direction.

The first four years represent state highway projects in the State Transportation Improvement Program which is MnDOT’s committed construction program. The CHIP also identifies projects in the six years after the current STIP which are the agency’s planned investments. While projects are not commitments until they reach the STIP, listing potential projects 5-10 years out allows for advanced coordination and ultimately better projects for all those served.

2019-2028 10-Year Statewide CHIP

A pdf version of the Statewide CHIP is listed below. Also available are an interactive story map summarizing the Statewide and District CHIPs as well as ¬†an interactive map of projects available on MnMAP -- MnDOT's collaborative GIS website.

Statewide CHIP

CHIP Story Map

New for this year, MnDOT created an interactive version of the CHIP known as a Story Map. Using maps, text, images, and video, the Story Map describes MnDOT's project planning process and investments for the next ten years. It also highlights interesting, important, and impactful projects each MnDOT district is planning over the next ten years.

Click here to explore the CHIP Story Map!

What if I have questions or comments on a project?

Good! We welcome comments and questions about projects. One of the reasons MnDOT started identifying potential projects 10 years in advance is to better coordinate and communicate potential projects before they reach the 4-year STIP. MnDOT generally begins scoping projects 5 to 6 years in advance, which are 2023 and 2024 for this year’s CHIP. Now is the best time to provide a comment on projects planned for those years. The best way to find information about a project in years 5-10 is to contact the district planning director. They are listed below:

District 1 Planning Director: Bryan Anderson, bryan.anderson@state.mn.us
District 2 Planning Director: Darren Laesch, darren.laesch@state.mn.us
District 3 Planning Director: Steve Voss, steve.voss@state.mn.us
District 4 Planning Director: Mary Safgren, mary.safgren@state.mn.us
District 6 Planning Director: Heather Lukes, heather.lukes@state.mn.us
District 7 Planning Director: Ronda Allis, ronda.allis@state.mn.us
District 8 Planning Director: Lindsey Bruer, lindsey.bruer@state.mn.us
Metro District Planning: Lynne Bly, lynne.bly@state.mn.us

To comment, click on their name and an email will appear with their address. If you have general questions about the CHIP and the project development process, please email Josh Pearson, joshua.pearson@state.mn.us, or use the comment box below.

Comment form

Submit your comments



Note: Any information that you provide is considered public data under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 13. This means that if someone, including the news media, requests this information we are obligated to provide it to them under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act. See Disclaimer.