Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Safe Routes to School

Mini-grants recipients

Mini-grants award up to $2,500 to a school to support SRTS activities. This includes training and supplies for school patrol programs, incentives and materials to support walking and biking encouragement events, bicycle racks, and other items to support walking and biking programs at K-12 schools in Minnesota. $125,000 in mini-grants will go to 64 schools in Minnesota, reaching nearly 40,000 students this school year. Regional partners applied and were selected from across Minnesota to administer grants in their region. The regional partners currently work with many of these schools on SRTS planning and programs.

69 schools applied for mini-grants and 64 schools were selected for funding.

Regional awards

Southwest Regional Development Commission $17,917

Riverside Elementary, Jackson
Windom Area Public Schools, Windom
Prairie Elementary, Worthington
Pipestone Area School District, Pipestone
Pleasantview Elementary, Lakefield
Jackson County Central Middle School, Lakefield
Heron Lake- Okabena, Okabena/Heron Lake
Jackson County Central High School, Jackson
Worthington MS & High School, Worthington

CentraCare Health Foundation, BLEND $9,769

Rice Elementary, Rice
Pleasantview, Sauk Rapids
Sartell Police Department, Sartell
Melrose Public Schools, Melrose

Minneapolis Public Schools $21,020

Jefferson Elementary
Pillsbury School
Whittier Community School
Bethune Community School
Seward Montessori
Bancroft Elementary School
South High School
Roosevelt High School

Mid-Minnesota Development Commission $8,625

Glencoe Silverlake School District, Glencoe
New London Spicer School District, New London
Willmar School District, Willmar

East Central Regional Development Commission $6,754

Kanabec County Safe Roads Coalition (5 schools), Mora
North Branch Area Public Schools, North Branch

Arrowhead Regional Development Commission $29,949

Minnehaha, Two Harbors
Great Expectations School, Grand Marais
Fond du lac Ojibwe School, Cloquet
Congdon Park Elementary, Duluth
William Kelley Elementary and High School, Silver Bay
Sawtooth Elementary School, Grand Marais
Washington Elementary, Cloquet
Churchhill Elementary, Cloquet
Moose Lake School, Moose Lake
South Terrace Elementary, Carlton
Myers Wilkins
Hill City

West Central Initiative $2,000

Rothsay Public Schools, Rothsay

St. Paul Public Schools $7,000

American Indian at Mounds Park
Highwood Hills Elementary
Jackson Elementary
L'Etoile du Nord Lower
L'Etoile du Nord Upper
Linwood-Monroe Arts Plus
Paul and Sheila Wellstone
The Heights Community School

Live Healthy Red Wing $3,900.00

Sunnyside School
Burnside School

Upper Minnesota Valley RDC $8,985.00

Stevens Elementary School, Dawson
Kerkhoven Murdock Sunburg (KMS), Murdock
Clarkfield Area Charter School, Clarkfield
Ortonville School, Ortonville

Individual Schools

St. Marks School, St. Paul $1,200
Pine River-Backus School District, Pine River $2,491
Lake Crystal Wellcome Memorial School District, Lake Crystal $2,500
St. Anthony Park Elementary School, St. Paul $2,430

Bicycle fleets

MnDOT Safe Routes to School program is awarding bicycle fleets to four organizations to support teaching the Walk! Bike! Fun! bicycle and pedestrian safety curriculum in schools and through local organizations. Fleets will include approximately 40 bicycles, basic supplies and an enclosed trailer to store and move them (estimated award value of $25,000). Educators will receive support and training on how to use the bikes and curriculum.

16 schools and/or organizations applied and four were awarded bicycle fleets.

Duluth Area Family YMCA, Duluth

Myers-Wilkins Elementary
Piedmont Elementary
Congdon Park Elementary
Lester Park Elementary
Laura MacArthur Elementary
Damiano Center
U of M Duluth Recreational Sports OutdoorProgram
YMCA out of school time programs
YMCA Camp Miller
Duluth Police Department

Perham-Dent Public School District and Battle Lake Public School District, Battle Lake & Perham

Heart of Lakes Elementary School
Prairie Wind Middle School
Boys and Girls Club
St. Henry’s Catholic School
St. Paul’s Lutheran School
Perham Area Community Center-Summer Rec
Battle Lake Public School District

St. Charles Public Schools ISD 858, St. Charles

St. Charles Elementary
St. Charles High School
St. Charles Park and Recreation
Get Active Club
Project FINE
Whitewater Country Coalition
St. Charles Community Education

Three Rivers Park District (Three Rivers), Plymouth, MN

Brooklyn Center Secondary Arts and IB World School
Earle Brown Elementary
Evergreen Park World Cultures Community School
Northport Elementary
Plymouth Middle School
Independent Charter
Odyssey Academy
Park Brook Elementary
Three Rivers Park District Programs
City of Brooklyn Center (Parks and Recreation, Police Department)
City of Brooklyn Park (Parks and Recreation)
Venture North Bike Shop