Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Oversize/Overweight Permits

Permit types

Permits are valid for travel only on state roads and highways, and the interstate system (unless otherwise noted). Maximum weight and load dimensions (width, height, length) are listed for each permit type.

Single Trip

Valid for 7 days and issued for individual trips of non-divisible loads. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 5(a) for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $15
  • Width: Varies
  • Height: Varies
  • Length: Varies
  • Weight: Legal

Single Trip (Oversize and overweight)

Route approval required. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivisions 5(a) and 5(e) for legal requirements.

Annual

Allows the transport of oversized bales of hay, straw or cornstalks with a height of up to 15 feet on all roads except freeways in the seven county metropolitan which will remain at a height limit of 14’-6”. Route approval required. See Minnesota Statute 169.862 for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $60
  • Width: 12'
  • Height: 15' (14'-6" when in the Metro area)
  • Length: 75'
  • Weight: Legal

Oversize only

Allows the transport of oversize boats, waterfront structures, portable boat docks and boat lifts by boat retailers, manufacturers, or for hire carrier. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 5(d)(6) for legal requirements. Route approval required.

  • Fee: $120
  • Width: 16’
  • Height: 15’
  • Length: 110'
  • Weight: Legal

Oversize and/or overweight

Allows the transport of oversize and/or overweight boats, waterfront structures, portable boat docks and boat lifts by the boat retailer or manufacturer or for hire carrier. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 5(d)(6)(f) for legal requirements. Route approval required.

Allows a double deck to operate with a vehicle height of up to 14’-3”. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 5(d)(5) for legal requirements. Route approval required.

  • Fee: $120
  • Width: 8'-6”
  • Height: 14’-3”
  • Length: 45'
  • Weight: Legal

Oversize only

Allows the transport of oversize construction supplies, machinery and equipment. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 5(d)(2) for legal requirements. Route approval required.

  • Fee: $120
  • Width: 16’
  • Height: 15’
  • Length: 110'
  • Weight: Legal

Oversize and/or overweight

Allows the transport of oversize and/or overweight construction supplies, machinery, and equipment. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 5(d)(2)(f) for legal requirements. Route approval required.

Allows a vehicle or combination of vehicles with 6 or more axles to transport raw or unfinished forest products at a gross vehicle weight up to 90,000 lbs. and 99,000 lbs. during winter weight increase season. Interstate travel is allowed on Interstate 35 in Minnesota from mile marker 235.4 to 259.552 under United States Code, title 23, section 127(q)(2)(D). See Minnesota Statute 169.8261 for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $300
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13-6”
  • Length: 75’
  • Weight: 90,000 lbs.

Allows a vehicle or combination of vehicles with six or more axles while exclusively engaged in transporting livestock to operate with a gross vehicle weight of up to 88,000 lbs. See Minnesota Statute 169.824, subdivision 2(2) and Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 5(j) for legal requirements. No travel on interstate.

  • Fee: $200
  • Width: 8'-6"
  • Height: 13'-6"
  • Length: 75'
  • Weight: 88,000 lbs.

This annual permit allows for the movement of manufactured homes and manufactured storage buildings. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 1(b) and subdivision 5(d)(3) for legal requirements. Route approval required.

  • Fee: $120
  • Width: 16’
  • Height: 15’
  • Length: 110’
  • Weight: Legal

This annual permit allows for mobile cranes with or without dollies, and other self-propelled vehicles. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 5(d)(1) for legal requirements. Route approval required.

Oversize only

  • Fee: $120
  • Width: 12'
  • Height: 14’
  • Length: 75’
  • Weight: Legal

Oversize and/or overweight

Allows the transport of trailers must be new from the manufacturer, empty, and cannot exceed 28” 6” long. A fifth wheel hook up is required between truck and the first trailer. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivisions 5(d)(7) for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $120
  • Width: 8'-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: 75'
  • Weight: Legal

This permit allows an owner or user of an oversize boat to transport it on Minnesota state highways. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 5(c)(6) for legal requirements. Route approval required.

  • Fee: $60
  • Width: 14’-6”
  • Height: 14’
  • Length: 85’
  • Weight: Legal

Allowable axle weights under the permit are: 22,000 single, 38,000 tandem and 46,000 tridem. A vehicle operating with a tridem weight up to 46,000 lbs. must not have a gross vehicle weight of more than 62,000 lbs. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision (5)(h) for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $85
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: 45’
  • Weight: 62,000 lbs.

See Minnesota Statute 169.869 for legal requirements

Six or more axles

Allows a vehicle or combination of vehicles with six or more axles to transport road construction materials at a gross vehicle weight up to 90,000 lbs. and 99,000 lbs. during the winter weight increase season. No travel on interstate.

  • Fee: $300
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: 75’
  • Weight: 90,000 lbs.

Seven or more axles

Allows a vehicle or combination of vehicles with seven or more axles to transport road construction materials at a gross vehicle weight up to 97,000 lbs. and 99,000 lbs. during the winter weight increase season. No travel on interstate.

  • Fee: $500
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: 75’
  • Weight: 97,000 lbs.

This permit allows two-unit or three-unit combinations of vehicles transporting soybean meal, with a gross vehicle weight up to 106,000 pounds, to operate only on:

  • US Highway 75 in Croookston, MN to US Highway 2
  • US Highway 2 from Crookston to the North Dakota border.

No seasonal weight increase allowed. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 5(c)(6) for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $850
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: 75'
  • Weight: 106,000 lbs.

Allows twin trailers up to 105,500 pounds gross vehicle weight on specific routes between Hallock and ND on MN175, Hallock and Donaldson on US75, and Donaldson and ND on MN11. See Minnesota Statute 169.866 for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $850
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: Legal truck trailer and semi-trailer units
  • Weight: 105,500 lbs.

Six or more axles

Allows a vehicle or combination of vehicles with six or more axles to transport qualifying agricultural products at a gross vehicle weight up to 90,000 lbs. and 99,000 lbs. during the winter weight increase season. No travel on interstate. See Minnesota Statute 169.865 for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $300
  • Width: 8'-6"
  • Height: 13'-6"
  • Length: 75'
  • Weight: 90,000 lbs.

Seven or more axles

Allows a vehicle or combination of vehicles to transport qualifying agricultural products at a gross vehicle weight up to 97,000 lbs. and 99,000 lbs. during winter weight increase season. No travel on interstate. See Minnesota Statute 169.865 for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $500
  • Width: 8'-6"
  • Height: 13'-6"
  • Length: 75'
  • Weight: 97,000 lbs.

This permit allows transport of paper products, finished forest products, or iron ore tailings. Allows 99,000 lbs. during winter weight increase season. See Minnesota Statute 169.864 subdivision 2 for legal requirements.

This permit only allows for travel on:

  • US-2 between Grand Rapids and the Port of Duluth
  • US-169 between Grand Rapids and US-53
  • MN-194 between US-2 and US-53
  • All of US-53

Six or more axles

  • Fee: $300
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: 75’
  • Weight: 90,000 lbs.

Seven or more axles

  • Fee: $500
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: 75’
  • Weight: 97,000 lbs.

This permit allows transport of paper products, finished forest products, or iron ore tailings. Allows a three-unit combination of vehicles to operate on specified roads with a gross vehicle weight up to 108,000 lbs. No seasonal weight increase allowed. See Minnesota Statute 169.864, subdivision 1 for legal requirements.

This permit only allows for travel on:

  • US-2 between Grand Rapids and the Port of Duluth
  • US-169 between Grand Rapids and US-53
  • MN-194 between US-2 and US-53
  • All of US-53
  • Fee: $850
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: 75’
  • Weight: 108,000 lbs.

Allows a vehicle or combination of vehicles with 6 or more axles to transport pole length pulpwood at a gross vehicle weight up to 82,000 lbs. See Minnesota Statute 169.863 for legal requirements. No travel on interstate.

  • Fee: $60
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: 75’
  • Weight: 82,000 lbs.

This permit authorizes a combination of vehicles with seven or more axles, consisting of a truck with leader and trailer, which may be equipped with an auxiliary dolly, used exclusively to haul earthmover tires while operating on specified highways. See Minnesota Statute 169.864, subdivision 2a for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $850
  • Width: 12’
  • Height: 13'-6"
  • Length: 75'
  • Weight: 108,000 lbs.

Allows tow trucks to exceed weight and length limitations when towing a disabled or damaged vehicle to a place of repair or safekeeping. This permit covers all tow trucks owned by the permittee. See Minnesota Statute 168B.15 and Minnesota Statute 169.829 subdivision 2 for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $300
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: Not restricted
  • Weight: Not restricted

 

Seasonal Permits

Allows first haul from the field of harvest to the first point of unloading on US and MN highways. Valid from the start of harvest to November 30. See Minnesota Statute 169.826, subdivision 1a for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $60
  • Width: 8'-6"
  • Height: 13'-6"
  • Length: 75'
  • Weight: 10 percent above legal weights

Allows US Postal Service vehicles, with no more than 25 percent of their route on paved roads, the use of studded tires. Proof of employment with the USPS and service map are required with application. Valid November 1 to April 16. See Minnesota Statute 169.72, subdivision 5 for legal requirements.

  • Fee: None
  • Width: 8’-6” (Auto or Pickup)
  • Height: 8’-6” (Auto or Pickup)
  • Length: 45’ (Auto or Pickup
  • Weight: Legal

Allows vehicles with snowplow blades up to a maximum of 10’ wide between October 1 and April 1. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 1b for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $60
  • Width: 10'
  • Height: 13'-6"
  • Length: 45’
  • Weight: Legal

Allows 10 percent over legal weights on interstate highways. No permit is required for the 10 percent increase on MN and US highways. The dates for the winter weight increase vary based on the freezing index. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 1a for legal requirements.

  • Fee: $60
  • Width: 8’-6”
  • Height: 13’-6”
  • Length: 45’ truck or 75’ combo
  • Weight: 10 percent above legal weights

Multi Trip

Oversize

This permit is valid for 60 days and issued for like loads (same product, weight, and dimensions) transported on a specific/designated route with the same power unit. See Minnesota Statute 169.86, subdivision 5(b) for legal requirements. Route approval required.

  • Fee: $36
  • Width: Varies
  • Height: Varies
  • Length: Varies
  • Weight: Legal

Oversize and/or overweight

  • Fee: $36 + Damage Assessment Fee multiplied by number of moves anticipated.
  • Width: Varies
  • Height: Varies
  • Length: Varies
  • Weight: Varies

Annual Overweight Schedule

Gross Vehicle Weight (pounds) Cost
90,000 or less $200
90,001 – 100,000 $300
100,001 – 110,000 $400
110,001 – 120,000 $500
120,001 – 130,000 $600
130,001 – 140,000 $700
140,001 – 145,000 $800
145,001 – 155,000 $900