2020 UCR Registration now open
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) today published in the Federal Register 2020 fees for commercial carriers and other entities required by law to participate in the Unified Carrier Registration Plan (UCR).
For the third consecutive year, those businesses subject to UCR will see a reduction in fees. The fee reductions for 2018 - 2020 are based on recommendations from the UCR Board of Directors to FMCSA following several years of higher than expected collections.
Register for UCR online
Online registration is preferred. Follow the step-by-step instructions at www.ucr.gov.
You may make payments using MasterCard, Visa, Discover, debit/prepaid card, or e-Check. Note that if you use a credit card, an access fee will be charged based on the total amount; e-Checks will incur a $1 fee. Minnesota does not charge for this service.
Register for UCR manually
As an alternative, you may complete the 2020 UCR application (and UCR-2, if applicable) and figure your UCR fees for 2020 using the following links:
- Registration Application & Instructions
- UCR-1 Application & Instructions
- UCR-2 Application & Instructions
- Carrier Letter
- Renewal Notice
Checks should be made payable to Minnesota Commissioner of Transportation and mailed to: 395 John Ireland Blvd - Mail Stop 420, St. Paul, MN 55155.
Year Prior (2019)
- 2019 Registration Application & Instructions
- 2019 UCR-1 Application & Instructions
- 2019 UCR-2 Application & Instructions
- 2019 Carrier Letter
- 2019 Renewal Notice
NOTE: Please write your U.S. DOT number or M.C.# on the face of your check. Incomplete or incorrect applications will be returned and may cause processing delays.
Register for UCR in person
You may drop off your application and check to the Minnesota Department of Transportation (Central Office), located at 395 John Ireland Blvd. - Room 153, St. Paul, MN 55155.
Counter service hours are Monday – Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, excluding holidays.
Freight forwarders, brokers and leasing companies
If your services as a freight forwarder, broker or leasing company are not combined with being a motor carrier – and you make arrangements for the transportation of cargo and goods in interstate or international commerce – then the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement (UCR) applies to your business.
The UCR collects an annual flat fee of $59.