Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Congressional Transportation Status Report

District 2


District 2 Overview

Map of MnDOT District 2

District 2 Fact Sheet (PDF)

The 7th and 8th Congressional districts intersect with MnDOT District 2.

MnDOT District 2 is located in the northwest area of the state. It is bordered by North Dakota and the Canadian provinces of Manitoba and Ontario. The district includes the counties of Kittson, Roseau, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Beltrami, Polk, Pennington, Red Lake, Clearwater, Norman, Hubbard and parts of Cass, Itasca and Koochiching. District 2 has a land area of 19,027 square miles and supports an integrated transportation network that includes 3910 lane-miles of roadways, 352 bridges, 7 operating transit systems, 581 active miles of railway and 22 airports. District 2 is one of two MnDOT districts with no interstate miles.

District 2 continues to set priorities based on safety and mobility needs of its customers while continuously looking for partnership opportunities to maximize budgets.