Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Region 7W

Benton, Sherburne, Stearns and Wright counties

View the 2022 Local Human Services - Transit Coordination Plan.

Region 7W

Long Range Transportation Plan

The most recent version of the Region 7W Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) was completed in 2022. The LRTP is an interactive plan that connects local voices, regional technical needs, and funding sources into a dynamic decision-making resource.

About Region 7W

Region 7W Counties Stearns, Benton, Sherburne, WrightRegion 7W is located north of the Twin Cities in central Minnesota and includes the counties of Benton, Sherburne, Stearns and Wright.

The Region 7W Transportation Plan covers county and city roads classified as collector and major corridors, which are eligible for federal funding through the Central Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership (District 3).

Transportation Policy Board

The board was formed under a joint powers agreement to conduct regional transportation planning and assist in prioritizing federal transportation funds for the region outside the St. Cloud Metro. The Region 7W Policy Board consists of locally-elected officials and is responsible for projects that use Surface Transportation Program funds.

The Region 7W area continues to face population growth challenges. Outside the Twin Cities, it is the most growing region in Minnesota. Strong population, housing and business growth to put stress on the transportation network. Its close proximity to the Twin Cities and major corridors of I-94, Hwy 10 and Hwy 169, continue to impact this region. Given limited funds for improvements, this could mean an increase in congestion, crashes and rougher roads.

Transportation Advisory Committee

The committee consists of city and county engineers and transit directors, who make recommendations to the Transportation Policy Board.