Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Congressional briefing

MnDOT District 4

MnDOT District 4 partnerships

MnDOT created Area Transportation Partnerships (ATP) more than two decades ago in response to changes in federal law that increased state flexibility and the need for public involvement in transportation planning and program decision-making. ATPs were established by each district specifically to facilitate broader input to the federal project selection process for the development of the State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP), the four-year program of state and local projects with federal highway and transit funding, projects with state funding.

West Central Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership

The West Central Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership (ATP) has been organized along MnDOT District 4 boundary and includes all the counties in the district. In addition to MnDOT District 4 staff, representatives from cities, counties, tribal governments, transit, industry, Regional Development Commissions and The Fargo/Moorhead Council of Governments are included in the ATP. Through the ATP, these organizations are responsible for reviewing the district’s proposed four year construction program and recommend local transportation priorities for federal funding.

Tribal Governments

Part of the White Earth Reservation lies within the boundaries of District 4. MnDOT consults with the tribes annually to discuss transportation issues and project. A member from the tribes also sits on the ATP.

Fargo-Moorhead Council of Governments

The Fargo-Moorhead Council of Governments (COG) is the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the planning area encompassing the cities of Moorhead, Fargo, West Fargo and surrounding urbanized areas in Cass and Clay counties. MPO’s lead the development of metropolitan area transportation plans and as coordinate the transportation planning process. All urban areas with populations greater than 50,000 are required to have an MPO if the agencies spend federal funds on transportation improvements.

Regional development organizations

There are nine regional development commissions (RDC) established by Minnesota statute in 1969 to provide technical assistance to local units of government in their region. They perform a variety of unique services based on the needs of their region and partner with numerous state and federal agencies. District 4 is served by the West Central Initiative, the Upper Minnesota Valley RDC, and the Headwaters RDC.

PartnerSHIP 4 Health

Partnership 4 Health is a collaboration of community partners in Becker, Clay, Otter Tail, and Wilkin counties working to improve the health of residents through preventive strategies that support sustainable changes in our schools, communities, workplaces, and health care. MnDOT District 4 has partnered with PartnerSHIP 4 Health on several Complete Streets projects to ensure the community’s bicycle and pedestrian needs are met.

Toward Zero Deaths (TZD)

Toward Zero Deaths (TZD) is a multi-agency partnership led by the Minnesota Departments of Transportation, Public Safety and Health in cooperation with the FHWA, Minnesota county engineers, the Center for Transportation Studies, and other traffic safety organizations. The West Central Minnesota Toward Zero Deaths 2008 and includes all the counties in District 4.

TZD provides an integrated approach to the application of education, engineering, enforcement and emergency medical and trauma services. The goal is to raise awareness of traffic safety issues and to develop tools that can be used to reduce the number of deaths and injuries resulting from traffic crashes in Minnesota.