Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Congressional briefing

MnDOT District 1

MnDOT District 1 partnerships

Northeast Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership

MnDOT created Area Transportation Partnerships (ATPs) more than two decades ago in response to changes in federal law that increased state flexibility and the need for public involvement in transportation planning and program decision-making. ATPs were established by each district specifically to facilitate broader input to the federal project selection process for the development of the State Transportation Improvement Program, the four-year program of state and local construction projects with federal highway and transit funding, as well as projects with state funding.

The Northeastern Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership (NEMNATP) includes representation Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Pine and St. Louis counties and the three tribal government in District 1. It is a committee of elected officials, engineers, planners and other agency representatives.

Tribal governments

District 1 has a close working relationship with the three tribes located in this area — Bois Forte, Grand Portage, and Fond du Lac. MnDOT consults with the tribes annually to discuss transportation issues and project. A member from all three tribes also sits on the ATP.

Duluth-Superior Metropolitan Interstate Council

The Duluth/Superior Metropolitan Interstate Council (MIC) is the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Duluth/Superior area. The MIC planning area encompasses Duluth and Superior as well as Minnesota cities of Hermantown and Proctor and the townships of Canosia, Duluth, Grand Lake, Lakewood, Midway, Rice Lake, and Solway; and the Wisconsin townships and villages of Lakeside, Parkland, Superior, and Oliver.

MPO’s lead the development of metropolitan area transportation plans and as coordinate the transportation planning process. All urban areas with populations greater than 50,000 are required to have an MPO if the agencies spend federal funds on transportation improvements.

Arrowhead Regional Development Commission

The Arrowhead Regional Development Commission (ARDC) is a multi-disciplined planning and development organization serving the Northeast Minnesota counties in District 1. Regional Development Commissions (RDCs) were established by Minnesota State Statute in 1969, and covers areas outside of an MPO area. There purposes as outlined in the Regional Development Act are to assist in multijurisdictional issues, coordinate resources to meet jurisdictional needs and coordinate planning activities within the specific regions.

ARDC works closely with MnDOT and provides staffing and planning assistance for several MnDOT initiatives, including the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee (RTAC). The RTAC is a forum for transportation and elected officials from the Arrowhead Region to discuss regional transportation issues and set regional priorities.

Toward Zero Deaths

Toward Zero Deaths (TZD) is a multi-agency partnership led by the Minnesota Departments of Transportation, Public Safety and Health in cooperation with the FHWA, Minnesota county engineers, the Center for Transportation Studies, and other traffic safety organizations. The Northeastern Minnesota TZD Partnership includes all counties in District 1.