Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Northwest Minnesota Regional Information

MnDOT District 2

Northwest Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership

Map of ATP-3

Counties of Northwest Minnesota ATP 2: Beltrami, Clearwater, Hubbard, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau.

Latest news

The Northwest Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership (ATP-2) is currently conducting its solicitation for Fiscal Year 2025 Transportation Alternatives Program (TA) projects. The TA program is for community-based projects that expand travel choices and enhance the transportation experience by integrating modes and improving the cultural, historic, and environmental aspects of our transportation infrastructure. The solicitation taking place this fall/winter is for projects that will be ready for construction in fiscal year 2025 within the 11 County ATP-2 boundary.


Area Transportation Partnerships (ATPs) were created by MnDOT to emphasize greater public involvement, enhance regional planning and increase cooperation development of the four-year State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP). Northwest Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership is one of eight ATPs in Minnesota.

Each year, we develop an Area Transportation Improvement Program (ATIP) that lists the state, regional and local transportation priorities for most of the area encompassed by MnDOT District 2. The regional priorities listed in the ATIP are then recommended for inclusion in Minnesota’s STIP.

When developing the program, the ATP 2 considers the transportation priorities of the areas

ATP 2 membership (PDF) consists of 11 voting and 5 non-voting members comprised of individuals representing counties, cities, regional planning agencies, tribal nations, transit, MnDOT, and other transportation interests. Learn more about ATP 2.