Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Congressional Transportation Status Report

District 8


District 8 Overview

Map of MnDOT District 8

District 8 Fact Sheet (PDF)

The 7th Congressional District covers MnDOT District 8.

MnDOT District 8 is responsible for providing a safe and reliable transportation system that serves 12 counties in southwestern Minnesota. MnDOT District 8’s responsibilities include managing and supporting more than 3,000 lane-miles of state highways, 365 bridges, 468 miles of rail line, 10 transit systems, 18 public airports, and other roadside infrastructure.

The district supports a diverse mix of small and medium-sized cities and rural expanses that reach from Marshall to Willmar to Hutchinson. This area’s primary industries include agriculture, manufacturing and food processing. The district's state highways provide accessibility and support the movement of freight and farm-to-market products.