Tribal-State Relations Training

Tribal-State: Government-to-Government Relationships

Contact Us

Joanna Dornfeld, chief of staff, Office of Governor Mark Dayton presents the proclamation to Linda Aitken, training manager, MnDOT’s Tribal- State Relations Training program, while Roxanne Richards, director, Continuing Education Program, UMD Center for Economic Development, University of Minnesota/Duluth Department of American Indian Studies and MnDOT Commissioner Charlie Zelle. Photo by Dave Gonzalez.

Joanna Dornfeld, Chief of Staff, Office of Governor Mark Dayton presents a Tribal-State Relations Training Day proclamation issued by Governor Mark Dayton to Linda Aitken, Tribal-State Relations Training Manager. Also shown in the photo: Roxanne Richards, Director, Continuing Education Program, UMD Center for Economic Development, University of Minnesota/Duluth Department of American Indian Studies and MnDOT Commissioner Charlie Zelle. Photo by Dave Gonzalez.


Have a question about TSRT?

Send an email to the TSRT planning team Tribalstaterelationstraining.dot@state.mn.us

Mailing Address:
Minnesota Department of Transportation
395 John Ireland Blvd. - MS 140
St. Paul, MN 55155-1899

Testimonials

"The tribal leadership panel was very impactful. Listening to the leaders was very eye opening and interesting."

P. Tobriltzkofer, MDOR March 2020

"Great learning and discussions. The boarding school treatment to Native American students were a travesty and a stain that can never be removed from our tapestry. These lessons have been so important to me in my growth and knowledge to further understand the historical context to Indigenous People."

- Dr. Stephanie Burrage

Deputy Commissioner, MDE

State Agency Liaison Contact Information

Printable version Minnesota Tribal Liaisons (PDF)

 Agency  Contact  Office Phone  Email
 Administration (ADM)  Curt Yoakum  651-201-2771  Curtis.Yoakum@state.mn.us
 Agriculture (MDA)  Shannon Kesner  218-382-0173  Shannon.Kesner@state.mn.us
 Commerce (COMM)  Lorna LaGue  651-539-1466  Lorna.LaGue@state.mn.us
 Corrections (DOC)  Wendy Spry  651-249-5913  Wendy.Spry@state.mn.us
 Education (MDE)  Dr. Jane Harstad  651-582-8257  Jane.Harstad@state.mn.us
 Employment and Economic Development (DEED)  Kirk Crow Shoe  651-259-7191  Kirk.Crowshoe@state.mn.us
 Health (MDH)  Jackie Dionne  651-201-3521  Jackie.Dionne@state.mn.us
 Higher Education (OHE)  Megan FitzGibbon  651-355-0606  Megan.FitzGibbon@state.mn.us
 Housing & Finance (MHFA)  Corey Strong  651-296-5701  Corey.Strong@state.mn.us
 Human Rights (MDHR)  Audel Shokohzadeh    Audel.Shokohzadel@state.mn.us
 Human Services (DHS)  Vern LaPlante  651-431-2910  Vernon.LaPlante@state.mn.us
 Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board (IRRRB)  Billie Isham  218-735-3017  Bille.Isham@state.mn.us
 Labor and Industry (DLI)  Naheeda Hirji-Walji  651-284-5531  Naheeda.Hirji-Walji@state.mn.us
 Management and Budget (MMB)  Vacant    
 Metropolitan Council (METC)  Brooke Bordson  651-602-1364  Brooke.Bordson@metc.state.mn.us
 Bureau of Mediation Services (BMS)  Ian Lewenstein    Ian.Lewenstein@state.mn.us
 Military Affairs (MNDMA)  Major Corey Robinson  651-259-5024  Corey.W.Robinson.mil@mail.mil
 MnIT Services (MnIT)  Michelle Klatt  651-201-2619  Michelle.Klatt@state.mn.us
 Natural Resources (DNR)  Brad Harrington  320-515-0688  Bradley.Harrington@state.mn.us
 Pollution Control (MPCA)  Helen Waquiu  651-757-2286  Helen.Waquiu@state.mn.us
 Public Safety (DPS)  Jenna Lehti  651-201-7172  Jenna.Lehti@state.mn.us
 Revenue (MDOR)  Dawn Blanchard  651-556-6001  Dawn.Blanchard@state.mn.us
 Transportation (MnDOT)  Levi Brown  651-236-7048  Levi.Brown@state.mn.us
 Veterans Affairs (MDVA)  James Miller  651-255-2663  James.Allan.Miller@state.mn.us

ADA and accessibility

To request any MnDOT document in an alternative format, please contact the Equity and Diversity Office at 651-366-4723 or 1-800-657-3774 (Greater Minnesota); 711 or 1-800-627-3529 (Minnesota Relay). You may also send an email to adarequest.dot@state.mn.us