Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Oversize/Overweight Permits

Holiday travel restrictions in Minnesota

Holiday and summer travel restrictions apply to oversize loads or vehicles exceeding 9 feet wide or 110 feet long. Holiday and summer travel is not restricted for overweight (only) loads or vehicles, unless noted on the permit.

2021 Schedule

New Year's Day

Office closed Friday, January 1. Travel is restricted from 2:00 pm on Thursday, December 31 to 2:00 am on Saturday, January 2.

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Office closed Monday, January 18. Oversize/Overweight travel allowed.

Presidents' Day

Office closed Monday, February 15. Oversize/Overweight travel allowed.

Fishing Opener Weekend (May 15-16)

Travel is restricted from 2:00 p.m. on Friday, May 14 until 2:00 a.m. on Saturday, May 15, and from 2:00 p.m. on Sunday, May 16 until 2:00 a.m. Monday, May 17.

Memorial Day

Office closed Monday, May 31. Travel is restricted from 2:00 p.m. on Friday, May 28 until 2:00 a.m. on Saturday, May 29, and from 2:00 p.m. Sunday, May 30 until 2:00 a.m. Tuesday, June 1.

Summer weekends (June 4 through Aug. 30)

Travel is restricted from 2:00 pm to 8:00 pm on Fridays and Sundays.

Independence Day

Office closed Monday, July 5. Travel is restricted from 2:00 pm. on Saturday, July 3 until 2:00 am on Monday, July 5.

Labor Day

Office closed Monday, September 6. Travel is restricted from 2:00 pm on Friday, September 3 until 2:00 a.m. on Saturday, September 4, and from 2:00 pm on Sunday, September 5 until 2:00 am on Tuesday, September 7.

Veteran's Day

Office closed Thursday, November 11. Oversize/Overweight travel allowed.

Thanksgiving Day

Office closed Thursday, November 25 and Friday, November 26. Travel is restricted from 2:00 pm on Wednesday, November 24 until 2:00 am on Friday, November 26.

Christmas Day

Office closed Friday, December 24. Travel is restricted from 2:00 pm on Friday, December 24 until 2:00 am on Sunday, December 26.

New Year's Eve

Office closed Friday, December 31. Travel is restricted from 2:00 pm on Friday, December 31, 2021 until 2:00 am on Sunday, January 2, 2022.