Tribal-State Relations Training

Tribal-State: Government-to-Government Relationships

Tribal Nations in Minnesota

There are 11 federally recognized Indian tribal governments in Minnesota. Each tribe is a separate sovereign nation with its own government - unique unto itself and distinct from all other federally recognized tribes.

Each tribe has an independent relationship with the United States and the State of Minnesota. Minnesota recognizes the unique sovereign status of each of the 11 federally recognized tribes and the cultural values of all American Indian tribes in Minnesota, and is committed to strengthening the government-to-government relationship with the tribes.

Dakota Communities (4):

  • Lower Sioux Indian Community / Cansa'yapi
  • Prairie Island Indian Community / Tinta Wita
  • Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community / Mdewakanton
  • Upper Sioux Community / Pezihutazizi Oyate

Ojibwe Reservations (7):

  • Bois Forte Band of Chippewa / Zagaakwaandagowininiwag*
  • Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior / Nahgahchiwanong*
  • Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa / Gichi Onigaming*
  • Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe / Gaa-zagaskwaajimekaag*
  • Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe / Misi-zaaga'iganiing*
  • Red Lake Nation / Miskwaagamiiwi-Zaagaiganing
  • White Earth Nation / Gaa-waabaabiganikaag*

*Members of The Minnesota Chippewa Tribe, which is a federally recognized tribal government.