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THE ELD MANDATE

® The Electronic Logging Device mandated in MAP-21

® What is an ELD?
— Device synchronized to the commercial vehicle’s engine

— Automatically records driving time and locations (GPS)
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* Why the requirement?
— Purpose is to more accurately track hours of service as
regulated in 49 CFR Part 395

— Intent is combat driver fatigue issues and reduce coercion
to violate hours of service regulations
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THE E;LD MANDATE

Important ELD Implementation Dates

— Published December 16, 2015
— Voluntary compliance until December 17, 2017

— AOBRD compliant device or ELD with soft enforcement
December 18, 2017 through March 31, 2018

— Full enforcement April 1, 2018
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THE ELD MANDATE

Requirements
* System Certified by FMCSA (self-certification)
® Capture location information
® Automatically record driving at speeds 5 MPH and greater
® Require driver to review unidentified driving time
* Transfer data to enforcement
® Driver must carry instruction sheets on use
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® Driver must carry log book pages to complete trip e s e
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Currently........

371 different ELD options
From 211 different Manufactures
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THE ELD MANDATE

Exemptions

® Driver is not required to comply with 49 CFR part 395

® Driver does not use paper logs more than 8 days in a 30 day
period

® Driver operates a driveaway-towaway
® Power unit has a model engine year of 1999 or older
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B States delaying ELD ticket writing until April 1

States leaving ticket writing to the discretion of
the individual officer
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ELD ENFORCEMENT
Minnesota Enforcement

7,331 inspections 04/01/18 through 6/10/2018

Statute Violation # noted
395.8A-ELD No ELD when required 43
395.8A-NONELD  No record of duty status, ELD not required 52

395.8A No record of duty status (*unknown on ELD) 51

Total 146
395.22A Operating a device not registered with FMCSA 14

*04/17 — 06/17 = 98 violations of no record of duty status
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ELD ENFORCEMENT

Minnesota Enforcement

False report of duty status — 395.8E
— 04/17 thru 6/17 — 213 violations
— 04/01/18 thru 06/10/18 — 110 violations
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ELD ENFORCEMENT
Minnesota Enforcement

Statute Violation # noted
395.22G Portable ELD not mounted 14

395.22H1 Driver fail to maintain user manual 26

395.22H2 Driver fail to maintain ELD instruction sheet 13

395.22H3 Driver fail to maintain instruction for malfunction 20
395.22H4 Driver fail to maintain blank log pages 25

395.24C1lI Driver fail to manually add location, power unit, 4
trailer, or BOL information

395.34A1 Driver fail to note malfunction requiring paper log 8
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ELD ENFORCEMENT
National Numbers

Since April 1%t less than 1% of drivers have been
cited for not having an ELD when one is required.

April and May of 2017 — 603,299 inspections
— 54,958 HOS violations

April and May of 2018 — 559,940 inspections
— 30,421 HOS violations
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Captain Jon Olsen

1110 Centre Pointe Curve, Suite 410
Mendota Heights, MN 55120
(651)405-6180
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