Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

District Freight Planning

District 7

District Freight Planning Home

District 7 Freight Plan

The Minnesota Department of Transportation’s District 7 is developing a regional freight plan to analyze long term freight needs of the region’s transportation system. This includes highways, roads, railroads, waterways and air cargo. The plan will provide a clear understanding of the District’s freight system, characteristics of local industry system usage, and freight needs and issues. 

Tell us what you think!

Visit our online engagement page to review freight recommendations and take our survey.

Working Papers

Rosemary Bruce-White, Southwest Regional Development Commission (SRDC)

Charles Androsky, Mankato/North Mankato Area Planning Organization (MAPO)

Kristian Braekkan, Region Nine Development Commission (RNDC)

Ryan Vesey, Greater Mankato Growth

Jay Wetmore, Wind Energy – NextEra/Westwood PS

Tom Rudnicki, Minnesota Biofuels Association

David Preisler, Minnesota Pork Producers Association

Tom Sluneca, Minnesota Soybean Mankato

Amanda Bilek, Minnesota Corn Growers Association

Julie Rath, Minnesota Prairie Line

Nick Klisch, District 7 Area Transportation Partnership/Cottonwood Co.

Troy Nemmers, District 7 Area Transportation Partnership/Fairmont

Lt. Jean Cemensky, Department of Public Safety - Commercial Vehicle Enforcement

Bobbi Retzlaff, Federal Highway Administration

Greg Ous, MnDOT District 7

Peter Harff, MnDOT District 7

Ronda Allis, MnDOT District 7

Sam Parker, MnDOT District 7

Angie Piltaver, MnDOT District 7

Jay Parker, Manufacturing - Taylor Corporation

Chad Larson, Biofuel production - Guardian Energy

Wayne Knewtson, Knewtson Soy Products (MFAC member)

Bruce Abbe, Specialty Soya and Grains Alliance (MFAC member)

Ryan Thilges, Blue Earth County

Seth Greenwood, Nicollet County

Andrew Lawver, MnDOT District 7 Design

Scott Thompson, MnDOT District 7 Traffic Engineering

Ronda Allis, MnDOT District 7 Planning

Angela Piltaver, MnDOT District 7 Planning

Samuel Parker, MnDOT District 7 Planning

Rosemary Bruce-White, Southwest Regional Development Commission

Leah Petricka, Region Nine Development Commission

Kristian Braekkan, Region Nine Development Commission

Robert Clarksen, MnDOT Office of Freight and Commercial Vehicle Operations

About District 7

District 7 serves south central Minnesota, which includes 13 counties: Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, Faribault, Jackson, Le Sueur, Martin, Nicollet, Nobles, Rock, Sibley, Waseca, and Watonwan. The Mankato/North Mankato Metropolitan Planning Organization (MAPO) also provides planning for portions of the area. 

The south-central region including District 7 has a strong manufacturing and agricultural presence. Interstate 90, US Highway 169 and Minnesota Highway 60 provide key truck routes connecting the region to South Dakota, the Twin Cities area, and important connections to Owatonna in the east. Rail connections provide the backbone of grain and heavy commodity movements. In addition, the area is host to large printing and electrical equipment manufacturers, food processing and production technology.