Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

District Freight Planning

District 6

District 6 Freight Plan Overview

The Minnesota Department of Transportation’s District 6 is developing a regional freight plan to analyze long term freight needs of the region’s transportation system. This includes highways, roads, railroads, waterways and air cargo. The plan will provide a clear understanding of the District’s freight system, characteristics of local industry system usage, and freight needs and issues.

District 6 serves southeast Minnesota including the 11-county region including Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, Winona counties. The area stretches from Owatonna in the west to Winona in the east and includes major Interstates I-90, I-35, US Highways 14, 52, 61 and 63. These connections serve traffic through and across the region and include connections to large regional cities, such as Rochester, Winona, Owatonna, Austin, Red Wing, Faribault, Albert Lea and La Crescent. The Rochester Olmsted Council of Governments and the La Crosse Area Planning Committee also serve areas of this region.

Working Papers

Hal Gray, FedEx Express

John Reed, Rochester International Airport

Louie Byrne, Lawrence Transportation

Ray Talamantes, Pro Trucking

Neal Drescher, McFarland Truck Lines

Michael McDonough, McDonough Truck Lines

Brad Nelson, McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing

Shelley Latham, Perkins STC

Jim H Krieger, CP

Nik Shephard, Progressive Rail

Randall Doyal, Al-Corn

Chris Hanson, Poet

Rick Schwarck, Absolute Energy

Eric Seebeck, Mayo Clinic

Matthew Wood, Mayo Clinic

Tom Griffin, Mayo Medical Laboratories

Mark Coffey, Hormel Foods

Peter Kolb, Fastenal

Mike Ross, Faribault Foods

Peter Doherty, All-American Co-op

Phil Wacholz, Freeborn County

Gregory Ilkka, Steele County

Lucy McMartin, City of Winona

Brian DeFrang, City of Winona

Steven Lang, City of Austin

Dillon Dombrovski, City of Rochester

Nick Larson, Port Authority of Winona

Shari Chorney, Red Wing Port Authority

Muhammad Khan, Rochester-Olmsted Council of Governments

Ben Griffith, Rochester-Olmsted Council of Governments

Peter Fletcher, La Crosse Area Planning Committee

Heather Lukes, MnDOT District 6

Mark Schoenfelder, MnDOT District 6

Kurt Wayne, MnDOT District 6

Michael Dougherty, MnDOT District 6