Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

District Freight Planning

District 3

District 3 Freight Plan Overview

District 3 Freight plan cover page

The Minnesota Department of Transportation’s District 3 is developing a regional freight plan to analyze long term freight needs of the region’s transportation system. This includes highways, roads, railroads, and air cargo. The plan will directly link outreach efforts from the Manufacturers’ Perspectives Study to build relationships with key stakeholders.

District 3 covers central Minnesota, and includes the area within 12 counties: Benton, Cass, Crow Wing, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Wadena, and Wright counties. The District also provides maintenance services in parts of Aitkin and Itasca counties.

The central region includes areas from rural zones to rapidly urbanizing cities and townships. It has the largest population base outside of the Twin Cities Metropolitan area. In District 3, the largest cities in the area are Brainerd, Baxter, St. Cloud, Cambridge, Monticello, Buffalo, Little Falls, and Sauk Center. Key industries in the region are wood production, tourism, food processing and automotive sectors. Major transportation routes include Interstate 94, US Highway 371, US Highway 71 and US Highway 10, and US Highway 169.

Working Papers

Ron Dvorak, Lake Superior Warehousing Inc.

Patrick O'Brien, TCBX Trucking

Joanna Jungles, Anderson Trucking Services Inc.

Dave Cashman, Speedee Delivery

Mark Wegner, Twin Cities and Western Railroad

Cody Hauser, Dezurik Manufacturing

Jim Sattler, Geringhoff Manufacturing

Patti Gartland, Greater Saint Cloud

Tyler Glynn, Brainerd Lakes Area Development Corporation

Matt Killian, Brainerd Lakes Chamber of Commerce

Andrew Witter, Sherburne County

Ryan Odden, Wadena County

Jodi Teich, Stearns County

Tim Bray, Crow Wing County

Virgil Hawkins, Wright County

Paul Sandy, City of Brainerd

Justin Femrite, City of Elk River

Mike Moilanen, Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe

Ernie Robinson, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe

Robert Voss, East Central Minnesota Development Commission

Penny Simonsen, East Central Regional Development Commission

Cheryal Hills, Region Five Development Commission

Tad Erickson, Region Five Development Commission

Kris Riesenberg, Federal Highways Administration

Brian Gibson, Saint Cloud Area Planning Organization

Capt. Jon Olsen, Minnesota State Patrol

Steve Voss, MnDOT District 3

Stephanie Castellanos, MnDOT District 3

James Hallgren, MnDOT District 3

Jon Mason, MnDOT District 3

Michael Ginnaty, MnDOT District 3

Brad Utecht, MnDOT Office of Transportation System Management