Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

News Releases

Jan. 30, 2020

Latest news releases

MnDOT appoints Sustainable Transportation Advisory Council members

ST. PAUL, Minn. — The Minnesota Department of Transportation’s Commissioner Margaret Anderson Kelliher announced the appointment of 17 individuals to the Sustainable Transportation Advisory Council (STAC). The new council members, who represent public, private and non-profit sectors, will make recommendations to help MnDOT reduce carbon pollution from transportation. STAC members are appointed for two year terms with the option to reapply. Anderson Kelliher will co-chair the council with Chris Clark, Xcel Energy President.

2020 Sustainable Transportation Advisory Council members:

  • Katie Bell, Cummins
  • Chris Clark, Xcel Energy
  • Katie Frye, Minnesota Power
  • Dorian Grilley, Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota
  • Greg Ikka, Steele County
  • Katie Jones, The Center for Energy and Environment
  • Ashwat Narayanan, Our Streets Minneapolis
  • Michael Noble, Fresh Energy
  • Rolf Nordstrom, Great Plains Institute
  • Daniel Schellhammer, Midstate Reclamation, Inc.
  • Patrick Seeb, Destination Medical Center
  • Russ Stark, City of St. Paul
  • Emma Struss, City of Bloomington
  • Vishnu Laalitha Surapaneni, University of Minnesota
  • Lisa Thurstin, American Lung Association, Twin Cities Clean Coalition
  • Peter Wagenius, Sierra Club North Star Chapter
  • Tara Wetzel, Mathy Construction Company

The advisory council will evaluate the full range of transportation activities in Minnesota and explore solutions that reduce carbon pollution. The council will also oversee a new Clean Transportation Funding Pilot Program to help communities, especially those in Greater Minnesota, reduce carbon pollution.

The creation of the council was one of the outcomes of the statewide environmental conversation documented in the Pathways to Decarbonizing Transportation report: mndot.gov/sustainability/pathways.html.

More information about MnDOT’s Office of Sustainability and Public Health is available at: mndot.gov/sustainability.