Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

News Release

April 3, 2018

MnDOT awards $225,000 in Safe Routes to School grants

Funding will make it safer for students to walk, bike to school

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Forty schools in Minnesota will benefit from $225,000 in planning assistance grants that support the Safe Routes to School program, the Minnesota Department of Transportation said today.

Safe Routes to School is an international program to increase physical activity, improve health and reduce traffic congestion around schools by making it safer and easier for students to walk and bicycle to school. Planning assistance grants provide communities the resources to convene a team, prioritize strategies and identify solutions.

“Thousands of school children now have more opportunities to walk and bike to schools because of the Safe Routes to School program,” said MnDOT Commissioner Charlie Zelle. “More students walking and biking means less traffic on the road and near schools, improving safety and promoting healthier kids.”

MnDOT announced the available planning assistance grants in October 2017. The agency received applications for more than 63 schools and awarded 12 grants that will benefit a total of 40 schools. Regional partners will administer grants in their area.

The Safe Routes to School grants in this solicitation are funded with state and federal Safe Routes to School dollars.

Since 2005, MnDOT awarded nearly $20 million in federal funds to communities to support Safe Routes to School. The majority of funding was awarded for infrastructure projects. The remainder was allocated for programs and planning that promote walkable and bikeable communities.

The list of grant recipients is below. More information on Safe Routes to School is available at www.mndot.gov/saferoutes.

Safe Routes to School 2018 Planning Assistance Awards:

  • St. Cloud School District 742 / St. Cloud Area Planning Organization
  • Edison High School – Minneapolis Public Schools
  • City of Foley
  • Monticello Public School District #882
  • Elk River: ISD 728
  • Region Nine Development Commission: City of Waseca
  • Region Nine Development Commission: St Clair School
  • Headwaters Regional Development Commission: Mahnomen Public School District
  • Southwest Regional Development Commission: Luverne Public Schools (ISD 2184)
  • Arrowhead Regional Development Commission: Cloquet ISD #094
  • Mid-Minnesota Regional Development Commission: Litchfield School District ISD #465
  • Northwest Regional Development Commission: City of Fosston

# # #