Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

News releases

Jan. 3, 2023

Latest news releases

Kandiyohi and Meeker counties added to No Travel Advised status

WILLMAR, Minn. – (3:15 p.m.) The Minnesota Department of Transportation added Kandiyohi and Meeker counties to the No Travel Advisory list (see below) that was issued for southwest Minnesota earlier today.

No travel is advised on state highways in the following southwest Minnesota counties:

  • Chippewa
  • Kandiyohi
  • Lac qui Parle
  • Lincoln
  • Lyon
  • McLeod
  • Meeker
  • Murray
  • Redwood
  • Renville
  • Pipestone
  • Yellow Medicine

Heavy snowfall and winds have created intermittent and total whiteout conditions throughout southwest Minnesota. People are advised not to travel in these counties until conditions improve.

No Travel Advised means that the roadway has deteriorated and/or visibility has been reduced to the point that it is very dangerous to travel; there are reports of intermittent white out conditions; and some weather conditions can be severe enough that road treatments are not effective, and conditions can become life-threatening for stranded travelers.