Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

News releases

Dec. 23, 2022

Latest news releases

Road closure update in southwest Minnesota

See updates below in red.

WILLMAR, Minn. – (2:00 p.m.) The majority of state highways in the twelve counties of southwest Minnesota District 8 are closed or in a No Travel Advised status. See the updated listings below.

Blowing and drifting snow, in addition to subzero temperatures have created blizzard conditions and hazardous travel. Stranded vehicles are blocking roadways and conditions can become life threatening for stranded travelers. The public is urged to stay off roadways in southwest Minnesota until conditions improve.

State highways in these counties are closed

  • Chippewa
  • Kandiyohi (south and west of Willmar)
  • Lac qui Parle
  • Lincoln
  • Lyon
  • Murray
  • Pipestone
  • Redwood
  • Renville (except Renville to Hector and Cosmos to Hector, which are No Travel Advised)
  • Yellow Medicine

No travel is advised in all or portions of these counties

  • McLeod
  • Meeker

Check the www.511mn.org website for detailed information and updates.