Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

News releases

Dec. 23, 2022

Latest news releases

More road closures in southwest Minnesota

WILLMAR, Minn. – (1:15 p.m.) The majority of state highways in the twelve counties of southwest Minnesota District 8 are closed or in a No Travel Advised status. See the updated listings below.

Blowing and drifting snow, in addition to subzero temperatures have created blizzard conditions and hazardous travel. Stranded vehicles are blocking roadways and conditions can become life threatening for stranded travelers. The public is urged to stay off roadways in southwest Minnesota until conditions improve.

All state highways in these counties are closed

  • Lac qui Parle
  • Lincoln
  • Lyon
  • Murray
  • Pipestone County
  • Yellow Medicine

No travel is advised in all or portions of these counties

  • Chippewa (east of Clara City)
  • Kandiyohi (south and west of Willmar)
  • McLeod
  • Meeker (Hwy 15 and Hwy 7)
  • Redwood (Redwood Falls to Morgan, Wabasso to Morgan)
  • Renville (Renville to Hector)

Check the www.511mn.org website for detailed information and updates.