Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

News Release

Feb. 9, 2020

Latest news releases

No travel advised lifted on state highways in 6 southwest MN counties

WILLMAR, Minn. — (8:45 a.m.) The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) has lifted no travel advisories on state highways in the following southwest Minnesota counties. Motorists should use caution, however, if traveling in these counties as roads are slippery with compacted snow.

  • Chippewa
  • Lac qui Parle
  • Murray
  • Pipestone
  • Redwood
  • Renville

The following state highway segments in Yellow Medicine, Lincoln and Lyon counties remain under no travel advisories due to hazardous driving conditions.

  • Highway 19 – Ivanhoe to South Dakota border
  • Highway 19 – Ivanhoe to Marshall
  • Highway 67 – Clarkfield to U.S. Highway 75
  • Highway 68 – Canby to South Dakota border
  • U.S. Highway 75 – Pipestone to Ivanhoe
  • U.S. Highway 75 – Canby to Ivanhoe
  • Highway 271 – Hendricks segment

No Travel Advised means that the roadway has deteriorated and/or visibility has been reduced to the point that it is very dangerous to travel; there are reports of intermittent white out conditions; and, some weather conditions can be severe enough that road treatments, such as salt or sand, are not effective. Motorists are advised not to travel on these roadways until conditions improve.

The public can view winter road conditions from plow cameras available through the 511mn.org website. Please note that not all plows have cameras. Road conditions on major highways can also be viewed through the Road Weather Information System (RWIS), which is also part of 511.

Follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/groups/MnDOTsouthwest.