Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Transportation Strategic Management and Operations


Advisory task force


The 2008 Minnesota Legislature established a task force to advise the governor and the Legislature on management and operations strategies that will improve efficiency in transportation. Chapter 152--House File No. 2800. The task force concluded on May 31, 2009.


The task force must provide an assessment that identifies strategies and makes recommendations, including any proposals for legislative changes, to improve efficiency in:

  1. State transportation construction and maintenance projects, and
  2. Management of state transportation infrastructure.

In developing its assessment, the task force may consider best practices in business and construction management; efficiency concepts in academic, business, or other environments; and, how requirements under law affect transportation efficiency. The assessment provided by the task force must include, but is not limited to, analysis of the project development process, cost estimation, bidding and award of contracts, contract management, cost overruns and construction project oversight by the Department of Transportation.


The Department of Administration will support the task force and the Department of Finance and Employee Relations Management Analysis Division will facilitate the task force work. A chair and co-chair have been selected by the task force and a work plan is being developed to complete the following tasks:

  • Build common knowledge of transportation processes among task force members,
  • Identify best practice options, and
  • Review and discuss select options for recommendations in the final task force report.


Task force

Commissioner of Transportation or Designee

Chair of Met Council or Designee

  • Arlene McCarthy

Governor’s Construction Industry Representative

  • Larry Lair

Governor’s Academic Representatives

  • Dr. Jeanne Boeh
  • Laura King
  • Dr. Svjetlana Madzar

Governor’s Private Sector Representatives

  • Clay Parker, Chair
  • Darwin Voltin
  • Jeffery Gale

Members of the House of Representatives

  • Representative Melissa Hortman
  • Representative Frank Hornstein

House Organized Labor Representative

  • Robert Hilliker

Members of the Senate

  • Senator Kathy Saltzman
  • Senator Dick Day

Senate Organized Labor Representative

  • Adam Duininck

Task force support

Department of Administration

  • Jim Rhodes

Department of Minnesota Management and Budget

  • Charlie Petersen

Department of Transportation

  • Dan DuHamel