Municipal (MSAS) Traffic Counting

The current Municipal State Aid Traffic Counting resolution reads:

That future traffic data for State Aid Needs Studies be developed as follows:

- 1. The municipalities in the metropolitan area cooperate with the State by agreeing to participate in counting traffic every two or four years at the discretion of the city.
- 2. The cities in the outstate area may have their traffic counted and maps prepared by State forces every four years, or may elect to continue the present procedure of taking their own counts and have state forces prepare the maps.
- **3.** Any city may count traffic with their own forces every two years at their discretion and expense, unless the municipality has made arrangements with the Mn/DOT district to do the count.

In 1998, cities were given the option of counting on a 2 or 4 year cycle.

In 2008, cities were given the option to revise their 2 or 4 year cycle as well as the count year.

In 2009, cities were given the option to move to a 4 year cycle with the option to count a subset of locations in the "off cycle" or 2nd year of a 4 year cycle (they will only recieve new count materials if these choose to count)

See Metro and Outstate counting schedules below (Note that Chisago County MSAS are grouped with the Outstate schedule)

2016	2017	2018	2019	2020	2021	2022
Anoka (4)	Arden Hills (4)	Andover (4)	Blaine (2)	Anoka (4)	Arden Hills (4)	Andover (4)
Columbia Heights (4)	Blaine (2)	Apple Valley (4)	Brooklyn Center (4)	Columbia Heights (4)	Blaine (2)	Apple Valley (4)
Coon Rapids (4)	Brooklyn Park (2)	Belle Plaine (4)	Brooklyn Park (2)	Coon Rapids (4)	Brooklyn Park (2)	Belle Plaine (4)
Crystal (4)	Chanhassen (2)	Bloomington (4*)	Chanhassen (2)	Crystal (4)	Chanhassen (2)	Bloomington (4*)
Dayton (2)	Cottage Grove (2)	Burnsville (4)	Circle Pine (4)	Dayton (2)	Coon Rapids (4*)	Burnsville (4)
Eden Prairie (4)	East Bethel (2)	Champlin (4)	Cottage Grove (2)	Eden Prairie (4)	Cottage Grove (2)	Champlin (4)
Hopkins (4)	Edina (4*)	Chaska (4)	East Bethel (2)	Hopkins (4)	East Bethel (2)	Chaska (4)
Minneapolis (4*)	Falcon Heights (4)	Corcoran (4)	Farmington (4)	Minneapolis (4*)	Edina (4*)	Corcoran (4)
Mound (4)	Fridley (4)	Dayton (2)	Ham Lake (4)	Mound (4)	Falcon Heights (4)	Dayton (2)
Shakopee (4*)	Golden Valley (4)	Eagan (4)	Hastings (4)	Shakopee (4*)	Fridley (4)	Eagan (4)
South St. Paul (4)	Lake Elmo (2)	Forest Lake (4)	Lake Elmo (2)	South St. Paul (4)	Golden Valley (4)	Forest Lake (4)
Spring Lake Park (4)	Mahtomedi (4)	Hugo (4)	Lakeville (4*)	Spring Lake Park (4)	Lake Elmo (2)	Hugo (4)
St. Paul (4*)	Maplewood (4)	Inver Grove Heights (4)	Mounds View (4)	St. Paul (4*)	Mahtomedi (4)	Inver Grove Heights (4)
	Medina (4)	Jordan (4)	Orono (4)		Maplewood (4)	Jordan (4)
	New Brighton (4)	Lino Lakes (4)	Prior Lake (2)		Medina (4)	Lino Lakes (4)
	New Hope (4)	Little Canada (4)	Ramsey (2)		New Brighton (4)	Little Canada (4)
		Maple Grove (4*)	Rogers (4 [^])		New Hope (4)	Maple Grove (4*)
	Oak Grove (4)	Mendota Heights (4)	Savage (4)		North St. Paul (4)	Mendota Heights (4)
	Plymouth (4 [^])	Minnetonka (4*)	Shoreview (2)		Oak Grove (4)	Minnetonka (4*)
	Prior Lake (2)	Minnetrista (4)	St. Anthony (4)		Plymouth (4 [^])	Minnetrista (4)
	Ramsey (2)	Oakdale (4)	Victoria (2)		Prior Lake (2)	Oakdale (4)
	Richfield (4)	Rosemount (4)	Woodbury (4 [^])		Ramsey (2)	Rosemount (4)
		St. Francis (4^)			Richfield (4)	St. Francis (4^)
	Roseville (4)	Vadnais Heights (4)			Robbinsdale (4)	Vadnais Heights (4)
	Shoreview (2)	Waconia (4)			Roseville (4)	Waconia (4)
	Shorewood (4)				Shoreview (2)	
	St. Louis Park (4)				Shorewood (4)	
	St. Paul Park (4)				St. Louis Park (4)	
	Stillwater (4)				St. Paul Park (4)	
	Victoria (2)				Stillwater (4)	
	West St. Paul (4)				Victoria (2)	
	White Bear Lake (4)				West St. Paul (4)	
					White Bear Lake (4)	

Metro Municipal Traffic Counting Schedule (publication year, city name, two or four year cycle)

*Takes counts over several years rather than just the publication year, year listed is the last year of the cycle (Bloomington, Coon Rapids, Duluth, Edina, Lakeville, Maple Grove, Minneapolis, Minnetonka, St. Paul, Shakopee)

^May choose to have a select set updated every 2 years (Rogers, Woodbury, Plymouth, St. Francis)

2016	2017	2018	2019	2020	2021	2022
Albertville	Albert Lea	Alexandria	Baxter	Albertville	Albert Lea	Alexandria
Austin	Crookston	Bemidji	Brainerd	Austin	Crookston	Bemidji
Buffalo	Chisago City	Big Lake	Chisholm	Buffalo	Chisago City	Big Lake
Cambridge	East Grand Forks	Byron	Duluth* (year 4)	Cambridge	East Grand Forks	Byron
Delano	Glencoe	Cloquet	Fergus Falls	Delano	Glencoe	Cloquet
Detroit Lakes	Grand Rapids	Elk River	Hermantown	Detroit Lakes	Grand Rapids	Elk River
Faribault	Hutchinson	Fairmont	Hibbing	Faribault	Hutchinson	Fairmont
International Falls	Kasson	Lake City	Litchfield	International Falls	Kasson	Lake City
Isanti	Little Falls	Marshall	North Mankato	Isanti	Little Falls	Marshall
La Crescent	Mankato	New Ulm	Owatonna	La Crescent	Mankato	New Ulm
Montevideo	Moorhead	Rochester **	Red Wing	Montevideo	Moorhead	Rochester **
Monticello	Morris	Stewartville	Redwood Falls	Monticello	Morris	Stewartville
Northfield	New Prague	Willmar	Saint Peter	Northfield	New Prague	Willmar
Otsego	North Branch	Zimmerman	Sauk Rapids	Otsego	North Branch	Zimmerman
Rochester **	Saint Joseph		Thief River Falls	Saint Michael	Saint Joseph	
Saint Michael	Sartell		Virginia	Waseca	Sartell	
Waseca	St. Cloud		Worthington		St. Cloud	
	Waite Park		Winona		Waite Park	
	Wyoming				Wyoming	

Outstate Municipal Traffic Counting Schedule (publication year, city name, four year cycle)

* Duluth counts approximately 1/4 of the city each year

** Up until 2012 Rochester was counted every two years (rotating between the city and MnDOT); 2016 city choose to count

*** No longer a city over 5000

Portions of St. Cloud are always being counting due to it crossing into 3 different counties