Municipal (MSAS) Traffic Counting

The current Municipal State Aid Traffic Counting resolution reads:

That future traffic data for State Aid Needs Studies be developed as follows:

- 1. The municipalities in the metropolitan area cooperate with the State by agreeing to participate in counting traffic every two or four years at the discretion of the city.
- 2. The cities in the outstate area may have their traffic counted and maps prepared by State forces every four years, or may elect to continue the present procedure of taking their own counts and have state forces prepare the maps.
- 3. Any city may count traffic with their own forces every two years at their discretion and expense, unless the municipality has made arrangements with the Mn/DOT district to do the count.

In 1998, cities were given the option of counting on a 2 or 4 year cycle.

In 2008, cities were given the option to revise their 2 or 4 year cycle as well as the count year.

In 2009, cities were given the option to move to a 4 year cycle with the option to count a subset of locations in the "off cycle" or 2nd year of a 4 year cycle (they will only recieve new count materials if these choose to count)

See Metro and Outstate counting schedules below (Note that Chisago County MSAS are grouped with the Outstate schedule)

Metro Municipal Traffic Counting Schedule (publication year, city name, two or four year cycle)

2010	2011	2012	2013	2014	2015	2016
Andover (4)	Blaine (2)	Anoka (4)	Arden Hills (4)	Andover (4)	Blaine (2)	Anoka (4)
Apple Valley (4)	Brooklyn Center (4)	Bloomington (4)	Blaine (2)	Apple Valley (4)	Brooklyn Center (4)	Bloomington (4)
Belle Plaine (4)	Brooklyn Park (2)	Columbia Heights (4)	Brooklyn Park (2)	Belle Plaine (4)	Brooklyn Park (2)	Columbia Heights (4)
Bloomington (4*^)	Chanhassen (2)	Coon Rapids (4)	Chanhassen (2)	Bloomington (4*^)	Chanhassen (2)	Coon Rapids (4)
Burnsville (4)	Circle Pine (4)	Crystal (4)	Cottage Grove (2)	Burnsville (4)	Circle Pine (4)	Crystal (4)
Champlin (4)	Cottage Grove (2)	Dayton (2)	East Bethel (2)	Champlin (4)	Cottage Grove (2)	Dayton (2)
Chaska (4)	East Bethel (2)	Eden Prairie (4)	Edina (4)	Chaska (4)	East Bethel (2)	Eden Prairie (4)
Corcoran (4)	Farmington (4)	Hopkins (4)	Falcon Heights (4)	Corcoran (4)	Farmington (4)	Hopkins (4)
Dayton (2)	Ham Lake (4)	Minneapolis (4*^)	Fridley (4)	Dayton (2)	Ham Lake (4)	Minneapolis (4*^)
Eagan (4)	Hastings (4)	Mound (4)	Golden Valley (4)	Eagan (4)	Hastings (4)	Mound (4)
Forest Lake (4)	Lake Elmo (2)	Shakopee (4)	Lake Elmo (2)	Forest Lake (4)	Lake Elmo (2)	Shakopee (4)
Hugo (4)	Lakeville (4)	South St. Paul (4)	Mahtomedi (4)	Hugo (4)	Lakeville (4)	South St. Paul (4)
Inver Grove Heights (4)	Mounds View (4)	Spring Lake Park (4)	Maplewood (4)	Inver Grove Heights (4)	Mounds View (4)	Spring Lake Park (4)
Jordan (4)	Orono (4)	St. Paul (4*)	Medina (4)	Jordan (4)	Orono (4)	St. Paul (4*)
Lino Lakes (4)	Prior Lake (2)		New Brighton (4)	Lino Lakes (4)	Prior Lake (2)	
Little Canada (4)	Ramsey (2)		New Hope (4)	Little Canada (4)	Ramsey (2)	
Maple Grove (4)	Rogers (4^)		North St. Paul (4)	Maple Grove (4)	Rogers (4^)	
Mendota Heights (4)	Savage (4)		Oak Grove (4)	Mendota Heights (4)	Savage (4)	
Minnetonka (4*)	Shoreview (2)		Plymouth (4 [^])	Minnetonka (4*)	Shoreview (2)	
Minnetrista (4)	St. Anthony (4)		Prior Lake (2)	Minnetrista (4)	St. Anthony (4)	
Oakdale (4)	Victoria (2)		Ramsey (2)	Oakdale (4)	Victoria (2)	
Rosemount (4)	Woodbury (4^)		Richfield (4)	Rosemount (4)	Woodbury (4^)	
St. Francis (4^)			Robbinsdale (4)	St. Francis (4 [^])		
Vadnais Heights (4)			Roseville (4)	Vadnais Heights (4)		
Waconia (4)			Shoreview (2)	Waconia (4)		
			Shorewood (4)			
			St. Louis Park (4)			
			St. Paul Park (4)			
			Stillwater (4)			
			Victoria (2)			
			West St. Paul (4)			
			White Bear Lake (4)			

^{*}Typically takes counts over several years rather than just the publication year

Waconia did not submit in 2012

[^]May choose to have a select set updated every 2 years

Outstate Municipal Traffic Counting Schedule (publication year, city name, four year cycle)

2010	2011	2012	2013	2014	2015	2016
Alexandria	Baxter	Albertville	Albert Lea	Alexandria	Baxter	Albertville
Bemidji	Brainerd	Austin	Crookston	Bemidji	Brainerd	Austin
Big Lake	Chisholm	Buffalo	East Grand Forks	Big Lake	Chisholm	Buffalo
Byron	Duluth*	Cambridge	Glencoe	Byron	Duluth*	Cambridge
Cloquet	Fergus Falls	Delano	Grand Rapids	Cloquet	Fergus Falls	Delano
Elk River	Hermantown	Detroit Lakes	Hutchinson	Elk River	Hermantown	Detroit Lakes
Fairmont	Hibbing	Faribault	Kasson	Fairmont	Hibbing	Faribault
Lake City	Litchfield	International Falls	Little Falls	Kasson	Litchfield	International Falls
Marshall	North Mankato	Isanti	Mankato	Lake City	North Mankato	Isanti
New Ulm	Owatonna	La Crescent***	Moorhead	Marshall	Owatonna	La Crescent
Rochester **	Red Wing	Montevideo	Morris	New Ulm	Red Wing	Montevideo
Stewartville	Redwood Falls	Monticello	New Prague	Rochester **	Redwood Falls	Monticello
Willmar	Saint Peter	Northfield	North Branch	Stewartville	Saint Peter	Northfield
Zimmerman	Sauk Rapids	Otsego	Saint Joseph	Willmar	Sauk Rapids	Otsego
	Thief River Falls	Saint Michael	Sartell	Zimmerman	Thief River Falls	Saint Michael
	Virginia	Waseca	St. Cloud		Virginia	Waseca
	Worthington		Waite Park		Worthington	
	Winona		Wyoming		Winona	

^{*} Duluth counts approximately 1/4 of the city each year

Portions of St. Cloud are always being counting due to it crossing into 3 different counties

^{**} Up until 2012 Rochester was counted every two years (rotating between the city and MnDOT)

^{***} No longer a city over 5000