Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

MnDOT Library

State DOT Libraries Directory

Compiled by Minnesota Department of Transportation, MnDOT Library

This directory also includes DOTs without a library that have a responsive point of contact.
* An asterisk denotes institutions that are staffed by a professional librarian with a Master's degree in library science.


A C D F I K L M N O P S T U V W | Other Transportation Libraries



Arizona Department of Transportation
The ADOT Library is closed. Reports published by ADOT and other Arizona agencies, both print and digital versions, are housed at the State of Arizona Library located at 1901 W. Madison Street, Phoenix, and https://azmemory.azlibrary.gov/.

Arkansas Department of Transportation
10324 Interstate 30
Little Rock, Arkansas 72209
Robin Russell
501-569-2268
Email: library.research@ardot.gov

Back to Top

California Department of Transportation*
Transportation Library
1120 N. Street, Room 1430
Sacramento, CA 95814
Karen Kasuba
916-657-5006
Email: karen.kasuba@dot.ca.gov

Colorado DOT Library
2829 W. Howard Pl
Room 441
Denver, CO 80204
303-757-9011
Email: CDOTlibrary@state.co.us

District of Columbia*
Kathleen (Katie) Crabb
Librarian
Planning and Sustainability Division
District Department of Transportation
55 M Street SE, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20003
202-478-9122
Email: Kathleen.Crabb@dc.gov

Back to Top

Florida Department of Transportation
No known librarian or library
Research Center, Mail Station 30
605 Suwannee St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0450 

Back to Top

Idaho Transportation Department
No librarian or library
Research Program
Highways Development Division
11331 W. Chinden Blvd
Boise, ID 83714
Ned Parrish
Research Program Manager
208-334-8296
Email: ned.parrish@itd.idaho.gov

Illinois Department of Transportation*
Policy & Research Center, Rm. 320
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL 62764-0001 
Karen Waters
Technical Reference Librarian
217-782-6680
Fax: 217-524 3834
Email: Karen.Waters@illinois.gov

Back to Top

Kansas Department of Transportation Library*
700 SW Harrison St.
Topeka, KS 66603-3745
Marie Manthe
785-291 3854
Email: marie.manthe@ks.gov

Back to Top

Louisiana Transportation Research Center*
4099 Gourrier Avenue
Baton Rouge, LA 70808 
Sandra Brady, MLIS
Librarian & Transportation Research Advisor
225-767-9716
Fax: 225-767-9731
Email: Sandra.brady@la.gov

Back to Top

Maine Department of Transportation
Library
No known librarian
16 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0016

Maryland State Highway Administration
No librarian or library
Research Projects Page

Massachusetts State Transportation Library
No known librarian
Online catalog only

Michigan Department of Transportation*
Research Administration, Bureau of Field Services
425 West Ottawa Street - B155
Lansing, MI 48909
Jennifer Herron
517-230-6103
Fax: 517-241-3194
Email: herronj1@michigan.gov

Minnesota Department of Transportation*
MnDOT Library, M.S. 155, Room 175
395 John Ireland Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155 
Sheila Hatchell, MLIS
651-366-3733
Fax: 651-366-3789
Email: sheila.hatchell@state.mn.us

Center for Transportation Studies*
University of Minnesota
University Office Plaza, Suite 440
2221 University Avenue SE
Minneapolis, MN 55414
Marilee Tuite, MLIS
612-626-8753
Fax: 612-625-6381
Email: ctslib@umn.edu

Mississippi Department of Transportation
No known librarian or library
Research Division
P.O. Box 1850
Jackson, MS 39215-1850 
Cynthia J. (Cindy) Smith, P.E
601-359-7647
Fax: 601-946-7734
Email: cjsmith@mdot.ms.gov

Missouri Department of Transportation Library*
600 W. Main St.
P.O. Box 387
Jefferson City, MO 65101 
Lauren Bielecki
Phone: 573-522-1948
Fax: 573-526-4324
Email: Lauren.Bielecki@modot.mo.gov or Lauren.Bielecki@sos.mo.gov

Montana Department of Transportation*
Library Services
2701 Prospect Avenue
P.O. Box 201001
Anders Johnson
Librarian
406-444-0871
Email: anjohnson@mt.gov
Email: mdtlibrary@mt.gov

Back to Top

Nebraska Department of Transportation*
NDOT Library
1500 Nebraska Highway 2
P.O. Box 94759
Lincoln, NE 68509-4759 
Denise Matulka
Knowledge Manager
402-479-4316
Fax: 402-479-3989
Email: ndot.library@nebraska.gov

Nevada Department of Transportation*
Research Library
1263 S. Stewart Street,
Carson City, NV 89712
Mitch Ison
775-888-7895
Fax: 775-888-7203
Email: mison@dot.nv.gov

New Jersey Department of Transportation*
Research Library
1035 Parkway Avenue
Ewing, NJ 08618-2309
Eric Schwarz
Research Librarian
609-963-1898
Email: Eric_cnslt.Schwarz@dot.nj.gov

New Mexico Department of Transportation*
7500 Pan American Freeway NE
P.O. Box 94690
Albuquerque, NM 87199-4690
Joseph G. Valdez, Research Librarian
505-660-3144
Email: Josephg.valdez@state.nm.us

New York State Department of Transportation*
Transportation Research Library
50 Wolf Road, POD 3-3
Albany, NY 12232
Sue Rahn
Senior Librarian
518-485-2077
Email: Sue.Rahn@dot.ny.gov

North Carolina Department of Transportation*
NCDOT Research & Development
Physical: 1020 Birch Ridge Drive
Raleigh, NC 27610
Mail:1549 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1549
Lamara Williams-Jones
Research Librarian
919-707-6665
Email: lcwilliams2@ncdot.gov

North Dakota Department of Transportation
No known librarian or library
Materials and Research Division
300 Airport Road
Bismarck, ND 58504-6005

Back to Top

Oklahoma Transportation Library*
202 W. Boyd Street, Rm. 213
Norman, OK 73019
Michael Molina
Librarian
405-325-5960
Email: odot-library@ou.edu or Michael.J.Molina-1@ou.edu

Oregon Department of Transportation*
ODOT Library
555 13th St NE
Salem, OR 97301
Laura Wilt
971-701-0709 (cell)
Email: laura.e.wilt@odot.oregon.gov

Back to Top

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
No known librarian or library
PennDOT Library & Research Center
400 North Street, 6th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17120-0064
Barbarajean R. Storm
Administrative Assistant
717-783-2446
Email: bastorm@pa.gov

Back to Top

South Dakota Department of Transportation
No known librarian or library
Office of Research
700 East Broadway Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-2586

Back to Top

Tennessee Department of Transportation
No known librarian or library
Library, Suite 300
James K. Polk Building
Nashville, TN 37243-0345

TxDOT Research Library*
Operated by the Center for Transportation Research Library
University of Texas at Austin
3925 W. Braker Lane, Suite 4.118
Austin, Texas 78759
Michael Nugent
Email: mnugent@austin.utexas.edu

Back to Top

Utah Department of Transportation
Lester Wire Library
PO Box 141650
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1650
Joni DeMille
Research Technology Transfer Technician
801-965-4626
Email: jdemille@utah.gov

Back to Top

VDOT Research Library*
530 Edgemont Road
Charlottesville, VA 22903 
Ken Winter
434-962-8979
Fax: 434-293-1429
Email: Library@VDOT.Virginia.gov

Back to Top

Washington State Department of Transportation*
WSDOT HQ Library
Mailstop 47425
310 Maple Park Ave. SE
Olympia, WA 98504-7425
Michel Wendt
360-705-7710
Email: WendtM@wsdot.wa.gov

WSDOT Materials Laboratory Library*
P.O. Box 47365
1655 S Second Ave.
Tumwater, WA 98512-6951
Kim Smeenk
360-709-5404
Fax: 360-709-5588
Email: smeenkk@wsdot.wa.gov

Washington State Ferries
Vessel Engineering Library
2901 3rd Ave, Suite 500
Seattle, WA 98121-3014
Christy Scoggins Granquist
206-515 3620
Email: granquc@wsdot.wa.gov

Wisconsin Department of Transportation*
Library
9th Floor South
Hill Farms State Office Building
4822 Madison Yards Way
Madison, WI 53705
John Cherney
608-264-8142
Email: john.cherney@dot.wi.gov

Back to Top

Other Transportation Libraries

AASHTO Information Center*
555 12th Street, NW
Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20004
Bob Cullen
202-624-8918
Fax: 202-624-5469
Email:bcullen@aashto.org

Berkeley Institute of Transportation Studies, Transportation Library
109 McLaughlin Hall MC 1720
Berkeley, CA 94720-1720
Kendra K. Levine
Transportation Library Director
510-643-3348
Email: kklevine@berkeley.edu

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Technical Library*
William J. Hughes Technical Center
Research and Development Management Division, ANG-E4
Atlantic City International Airport
New Jersey, 08405
Bob Mast, B.S.E.E.,M.L.S
609-485-5242
Email: robert.mast@faa.gov
Email: actlibrary.tc@faa.gov

Federal Highway Administration Research Library
Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center
6300 Georgetown Pike, Room T-101
McLean, VA 22101-2296
202-493-3172
Fax: 202-493-3495
Email: fhwalibrary@dot.gov

Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority Library & Archive
3550 Trousdale Parkway, DML 101
Mail Code:0182
Los Angeles, California 90089-0182
Chris Salvano
Digital Resources Librarian
213-922-4552
Email: library@metro.net

National Rural Transit Assistance Program
5 Wheeling Avenue
Woburn, MA 01801
Cara Marcus
718-404-5020
Email: cmarcus@nationalrtap.org

National Transportation Library*
U.S. DOT
Headquarters, W12-300
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20590
1-800-853-1351 or 202-366-3492
Fax: 202 366-7779
Email: library@dot.gov

Northwestern University Transportation Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Rachel Cole
Head of the Transportation Library
847-467-5325
rachel.cole@northwestern.edu
transportationlibrary@northwestern.edu

Sound Transit research library
401 South Jackson Street
Seattle, WA 98104
Bronwyn Dorhofer
Sound Transit librarian
206-398-5344
bronwyn.dorhofer@soundtransit.org

Transportation Research Board Library*
500 Fifth St. NW
Washington, DC 20001
Email: trblibrary@nas.edu
Claire Harrington
Senior Librarian
202-334-2989 
E-Mail: charrington@nas.edu

Bill McLeod
TRIS Manager
202-334-2947
Email: wmcleod@nas.edu

Indexing Manager
202-334-3891

Volpe Center Technical Resource Center
U.S.DOT
220 Binney Street
Cambridge, MA  02142
Currently no librarian

* An asterisk denotes institutions that are staffed by a professional librarian with a Master's degree in library science.

Back to Top