Jump to main content.
Minnesota Department of Transportation Go to 511
MnDOT A to Z | General Contacts | Search |

Southwest Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership

Transportation Planning in District 8
D8 ATP Home | Members | Meeting Documents | Activities/Schedule |STIP-ATIP |TAP| Contact Us

SW ATP-8 Schedule






















For Mn/DOT District 8, the ATP is known as ATP-8 and has the same boundaries as the District 8 State Aid Boundaries, which includes the counties of Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville and Yellow Medicine. The ATP-8 area includes 12 counties and the three Regional Development Commissions (RDCs).


ATP-8's primary role is to bring together the transportation improvement recommendations of local units of government and the Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) and other transportation partners into an integrated and prioritized list of transportation investments called the Area Transportation Improvement Program (ATIP). In addition, ATP-8 is expected to review, comment, and approve its portion of the draft State Transportation Improvement Plan (STIP). It is the task and responsibility of ATP members to approach investment from a jurisdiction-blind position on the candidate projects.


Federal Funding


ATP-8 receives federal target funding based on a State Target Formula for each district. Currently, ATP-8 funding allocation represents roughly 5.6% of the overall state allocation, which is based on the district's system size and usage.


ATIP / STIP Requirements


The Federal requirements state that the development of an Area Transportation Improvement Program for ATIP / STIP must include the following:


  1. Be consistent with the policy statements and directions established in the Statewide Transportation Plan.
  2. Include capital and non-capital transportation projects proposed for funding under Title 23 United States Code (USC) (Highways) and Title 49 USC (Transits)
  3. Contain all regionally significant transportation projects that require an action by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) or the Federal Transit Authority (FTA), regardless of jurisdiction, mode, or source of funding.
  4. Include a priority list of transportation projects for a four-year time frame.
  5. Be financially constrained by year and must indicate whether the transportation system is being adequately operated and maintained.
  6. Include sufficient financial information to demonstrate which projects are to be implemented using current revenues.
  7. Include public involvement as a mandatory component of the transportation planning process under TEA-21. (Guidance on implementing public involvement programs can be found in Mn/DOT's "Hear Every Voice-A Guide to Public Involvement at Mn/DOT".)
  8. Have a 20% non-federal match with the exception of STP Safety projects (Hazard Elimination and Rail-Highway Crossing).
  9. Be sponsored by a state agency, county,a city with a population greater than 5,000 or tribal government within ATP-8 boundaries.. Smaller cities, townships, tribal nations, and other organizations must have their project sponsored by an eligible entity.