Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

News Release

March 19, 2018

Partnership seeks public input on $340 million worth of state and federally funded transportation projects

MANKATO, Minn. – Each year, the Area Transportation Partnership solicits, reviews and prioritizes projects that seek federal aid highway, state highway, and federal transit sources of funding.  The ATP-7 in MnDOT District 7 recently completed their draft four-year program totaling around $340 million for public review.

Upcoming opportunities to provide comment on the draft program for 2019-2022 include:

  • Region 8 Development Commission Transportation Committee Meeting
    April 4, 4:00 – 5:30 p.m. 2401 Broadway Ave, Slayton
  • Region Nine Development Commission – Commission Meeting/Open House
    April 11, Time – 4:30 – 5:30 p.m., South Central Services Cooperative, 2075 Lookout Drive, North Mankato
  • Mankato/North Mankato Area Planning Organization (MAPO) is accepting public comment for the 2019-2022 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) at an Open House on Wednesday, April 18 from 4:00PM – 6:00PM at the North Mankato Police Annex, 1001 Belgrade Avenue, North Mankato. The MAPO is also accepting public comment on its website, located at mnmapo.org .

Or visit www.dot.state.mn.us/d7/atp/ to review the documents and comment on-line before April 16.

ATP-7 recommends projects for small urban and rural road and bridge and the Transportation Alternatives Program that helps fund trails, historic transportation facilities, Safe Routes to School and more. 

MnDOT submits state roads and bridges along with projects on the National Highway System into the program. These projects are ranked by categories with set investment targets, and then integrated into the four-year program.

Transportation funding at the federal level is primarily collected as a gas tax and at the state level as a combination of gas tax, license tab money and motor vehicle excise tax.

The Area Transportation Partnerships were established by each district to facilitate broader input to the project selection process. ATP-7 covers the 13 counties of Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, Faribault, Jackson, LeSueur, Martin, Nicollet, Nobles, Rock, Sibley, Waseca, and Watonwan. Membership includes a mix of elected and professional staff from several agencies throughout the district.