District 6

Supporting the transportation network of southeastern Minnesota

District 6 Home | District 6 News Releases | Statewide Construction | Statewide News | District Contacts

District 6 — 2014 Major Construction Projects


Hwy 52 in Cannon Falls

I-90 Dresbach Bridge


Winona Bridge


More projects


Road Knowledge

Regional Information

Click on your region below for more information.Or use this City Listing to find your MnDOT district.



District Offices
MnDOT District 6 MnDOT District 1 MnDOT District 2 MnDOT District 3 MnDOT District 4 Metro District MnDOT District 8 MnDOT District 7 MnDOT District 8


District 6 — Southeastern Minnesota


Interstate 90 Dresbach Bridge construction.


District News

We invite you to view recent news, traffic impacts, district events, and future and current construction projects on our Web page.

About District 6

Eleven counties in southeastern Minnesota comprise District 6 of the Minnesota Department of Transportation. Headquarters are located in Rochester, and two more district offices are located in Owatonna and Winona.



The MnDOT team in District 6 plans, designs, constructs and maintains the state and federal highway systems within district boundaries. We also manage the aid and assistance given to county and city systems that qualify for state and federal dollars. District 6 also provides transit, trail and rail transportation services.

There are 10 full service rest areas in District 6. Two of these also serve as information centers. The Dresbach Information Center serves westbound I-90 travelers, and the Albert Lea Information Center serves northbound I-35 traffic.

If you are interested in public involvement with our transportation projects, please go to District 6’s Area Transportation Partnership page for more information.


MnDOT District 6 reviews and comments on proposed access changes, land use changes, plats, site plans, registered surveys, access management plans, environmental documents, comprehensive plans, and long-range corridor plans that may potentially affect the state transportation system in southeast Minnesota. Local Government Units (and relevant consultants, property owners and developers) should complete and submit the Development Review Information Checklist found in this Development Review Guide in order to facilitate MnDOT District 6’s development review.


Counties Served

District 6 serves Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha and Winona counties.


Rest areas

Quick Links


Statewide and District Investment Plans

Connect with us