m‘ DEPARTMENT OF Office of Freight and Commercial Vehicle Operations

TRANSPORTATION 395 John Ireland Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155

NETStudy 2.0 Background Studies

General Information for STS Providers

MN Statutes 174.30 Operating Standards for SPECIAL TRANSPORTATION SERVICES, Subdivision 10 states that
STS providers must initiate background studies

What is NETStudy 2.0?

It is a web-based system used to submit background checks. Providers log into secure accounts via the internet.

What agency administers NETStudy 2.0?

The Department of Human Services, not MnDOT.

Who is required to have a background study?

State law requires background studies for individuals working in certain settings. For those providing special
transportation services, a background study is required for:
e Each person with a direct or indirect ownership interest of five percent or higher in the transportation
service provider;
e Each controlling individual as defined under section 245A.02;
e Managerial officials as defined in section 245A.02;
e Each driver employed by the transportation service provider;
e Each individual employed by the transportation service provider to assist a passenger during transport;
and
e All employees of the transportation service agency who provide administrative support, including those
who:
0 may have face-to-face contact with or access to passengers, their personal property, or their
private data;
0 perform any scheduling or dispatching tasks; or
0 perform any billing activities.

How is a background study started?

It is usually started by the provider with whom the background study subjects are affiliated. Providers should
review the NETStudy Quick Start Guide and the NETStudy 2.0 Training Videos for additional information.
(Website addresses for the NETStudy Guide and Training videos are provided in the How to Get a Study section.)

For more information visit mndot.gov/cvo/sts
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/245A.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/245A.02
https://mn.gov/dhs/assets/quickstart_guide_tcm1053-165815.pdf
https://mn.gov/dhs/assets/netstudy2.0_training_videos_tcm1053-166196.pdf

When does a background study request have to be submitted?

A background study request must be submitted by the provider before a person begins providing services. You
will need your STS/MnDOT number to initiate the background study with DHS.

How often does an individual need a background study?

Most people only need one study, with some exceptions. A new background study must be done when a person
is on the providers separated roster for more than 180 days.

Are fingerprints and photographs required?

Yes and you must go to an approved location.

e The cost is $9.10, in addition to a $20 background study fee.
e For fingerprint and photo locations:
https://www.aps.gemalto.com/mn/Maps/MNFingerprintLocations.htm

What records are checked?

e Criminal history information maintained by the MN Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA);

e Minnesota Predatory Offender Registry;

e Records of substantiated maltreatment of vulnerable adults and minors from investigations completed
by county and state agencies; and

e FBIlrecords are checked when the offender status is not-determined or blank and also when an

individual currently resides or has resided outside of Minnesota in the last five years.

What causes a person to be disqualified?
An individual can be disqualified based on information from Minnesota or any other state that includes:

e A conviction, admission to any of the crimes listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 245C.15 or a similar
crime in another state.

e A preponderance of evidence that the subject committed an act that met the definition of any of the
offenses listed 245C.15

e Afinding of substantiated maltreatment of a minor or vulnerable adult that is determined to be serious
and/or recurring as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 245C.02.

e Examples of crimes in MN Statute, sec. 245C.15 include:

0 Murder
Manslaughter
Felony domestic assault

Great bodily harm caused by distribution of drugs

© O O O

Criminal sexual conduct

Note: This is not a complete list. It is intended as a reference to provide examples of disqualifying offenses.

For more information visit mndot.gov/cvo/sts
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https://www.aps.gemalto.com/mn/Maps/MNFingerprintLocations.htm

Study Results

How does DHS know if a person is convicted of, or pleads guilty to, a new crime after the person has a completed
background study?

DHS receives daily automatic notifications from the Minnesota Court Information System containing updated court records
which are checked against background studies in the NETStudy 2.0 system. Child abuse and neglect determination and
adult maltreatment determinations are also continuously monitored in NETStudy 2.0 system.

How long will background study results take?

Most results (85%) are provided within 24-48 hours after DHS receives a response from the BCA. This can take about one
week after the person is fingerprinted.

The Department of Human Services (DHS) will mail the study results to the study subject; and the provider who initiated the
study will receive notification as to whether or not the study subject is eligible or disqualified.

What is a notice of status?
Within three days of DHS receiving the BCA response DHS provides a notice of the status of the study.

IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR STS PROVIDERS:
Per MN Statute 174.30, only clearance notice allows providers to permit an individual required to have a background study
to provide services. This is a specific restriction for STS industry.

NOTE: Transportation service providers shall not permit any individual required to have a background study to provide
any service or function listed in 174.30, subd. 10, until the provider has received notification from DHS that the study
subject:

e Is not disqualified, or

e Is disqualified but has received a “set aside”, (an exemption) from the commissioner in writing

How to Get a Study

State law requires Special Transportation Service providers to submit background study requests to the
Department of Human Services (DHS).

Phone: 651-431-6620
Fax: (651) 431-7670
Link to Quick Start Guide:

http://mn.gov/dhs/assets/quickstart guide tcm1053-165815.pdf

Link to Training Videos:

http://mn.gov/dhs/assets/netstudy2.0 training videos tcm1053-166196.pdf

For information on fingerprint and photo locations:

https://www.aps.gemalto.com/mn/Maps/MNFingerprintLocations.htm
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Or call 651-215-6330 OCTOBER 2018 3


http://mn.gov/dhs/assets/quickstart_guide_tcm1053-165815.pdf
http://mn.gov/dhs/assets/quickstart_guide_tcm1053-165815.pdf
hhttps://netstudy2.dhsintra.net/Files/Download/714f5ef3-a87e-4850-88d0-5de8098098ef
hhttps://netstudy2.dhsintra.net/Files/Download/714f5ef3-a87e-4850-88d0-5de8098098ef
https://www.aps.gemalto.com/mn/Maps/MNFingerprintLocations.htm

MnDOT Contact Information:

Minnesota Department of Transportation

Office of Freight and Commercial Vehicle Operations
395 John Ireland Blvd., Rm 153 (Mail Stop 420)

St. Paul, MN 55155

Phone: 651-215-6330

Fax: 651-366-3718

This information is intended to provide you with general guidance concerning the applicable laws and rules and does not
constitute legal advice.

To request this document in an alternative format, please call Janet Miller at 651-366-4720 or 1-800-657-3774 (Greater
Minnesota). You may also send an email to Janet.Rae.Miller @state.mn.us

For more information visit mndot.gov/cvo/sts
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