Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Property Carriers in Minnesota

 

A property carrier.

Become authorized to operate as a property carrier

Intrastate carriers (within Minnesota only)

There are 6 steps to obtain an intrastate property carrier permit:

  1. Submit a completed application (instructions).

2. Submit $75 registration fee for each vehicle.

NOTE: If you are a for-hire property carrier, no fee is required.

3. File and maintain proper levels of insurance (Form E).

4. Register your business with the Secretary of State's office.

5. Complete a Certificate of Compliance form under Minnesota Worker's Compensation Law.

6. Complete Introduction to Minnesota Trucking Regulations (IMCC) within 90 days of being issued this certificate.

Interstate carriers (across state lines)

There are 6 steps to obtain an interstate property carrier permit:

  1. Submit a completed application (instructions).

2. Complete and file a Motor Carrier Identification Report (MCS-150).

3. File and maintain proper levels of insurance (Form E).

4. Register your business with the Secretary of State's office.

5. Complete a Certificate of Compliance form under Minnesota Worker's Compensation Law.

6. Complete Introduction to Minnesota Trucking Regulations (IMCC) within 90 days of being issued this certificate.