DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Minnesota General Provisions for Oversize/Overweight Permitted Loads

- 1. Vehicle Registered Weight. The Minnesota oversize/overweight permit does not increase the permitted vehicles registered weight. Registration increases must be done through Driver and Vehicle Services/Prorate section.
- Annual Permit Moves. Trip log route preauthorization is required for annual Construction/Farm; Commercial Boat; Mobile Home; Mobile Crane; Baled Farm Products; Noncommercial boat; Double Decker Bus permits when exceeding 11 feet wide; or 14 feet 6 inches high, or when overweight.
- 3. **County and Local Roads.** Permittee must obtain approval from the appropriate road authority before operating on county or other local roadways.
- 4. **Inclement Weather & Road Conditions.** Movement is not allowed during hazardous weather or road conditions, or when visibility is less than 500 feet, or when weather conditions prevent the vehicle from staying within its travel lane.

5. Warning Devices:

Flags: Red or orange warning flags, 18-inch square, to be displayed at widest ends when width exceeds 9 feet and/or length exceeds 75 feet.

Warning flags/lights must be spaced no more than 20 feet apart along the load or vehicle when exceeding 75 feet long.

<u>Lights</u>: Warning lights are required whenever signs are required. Lights may be flashing, strobe, or rotating beacon and must be visible from no less than 500 feet.

Signs: Oversize Load signs required on front and rear of vehicle when width exceeds 12 feet 6 inches and/or length exceeds 95 feet. Signs must be lighted or of reflective material between sunset and sunrise and visible at least 500 feet.

 Pilot Cars. Certified pilot escorts are required under MN Statutes (M.S.169.812; M.S.299D.085). Valid certificates from *Colorado*, *Florida*, *North Carolina*, *Oklahoma*, *Utah*, *Virginia*, *and Washington* are acceptable provided all other requirements are met. Minnesota <u>Pilot Car Escort Rules</u>.

- 7. **Posted Roads, Bridges, Detours.** Permittee must comply with all posted road and bridge restrictions.
- 8. **Rear Visibility Required.** The hauling vehicle must be equipped with mirrors that provide the driver a rear view of the highway for a distance of at least 200 feet.
- 9. **Loading Limitations.** Except for certain annual permits under Minnesota Statute, loads or vehicles must be reasonably divided or repositioned to avoid an oversize or overweight condition.
- Travel Hours. In general, travel is not restricted unless otherwise noted on the permit. Additionally:
 - Holidays: No travel statewide from 2:00pm the day before the holiday to 2:00am the day after the holiday when exceeding 12 feet 6 inches wide; or 110 feet long. <u>Holiday Schedule</u>.
 - Weekend Summer: No travel statewide 4:00pm to 8:00pm on (Fridays and Sundays) when exceeding 12 feet 6 inches wide; or 110 feet long (between Memorial Day and Labor Day).
 - Rush Hour: (Minneapolis/St Paul & Duluth Metro boundary) No travel weekdays from 6:00am - 8:30am; 3:30pm - 6:00pm in the Twin Cities & Duluth metro when exceeding 14 feet 6 inches wide; or 110 feet long, unless noted otherwise on the permit.
 - Night Travel Required: (<u>Minneapolis/St Paul Metro</u> <u>boundary</u>) Travel restricted to 12:00am - 5:00am (*Monday thru Friday*) in the Twin Cities seven county metro when exceeding 16 feet wide; or unless noted otherwise of the permit.

Note to Enforcement Agencies: Forward permit violations to MnDOT OSOW Permits; email: ofcvopermits.dot@state.mn.us