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Section 15 	
Obtaining and Maintaining Minnesota Intrastate For-Hire Operating 
Authority

Minnesota operating authority is required for those persons engaged in for-
hire transportation and certain other private motor carriers within the state 
of Minnesota. Operating authority will not be issued to an applicant with 
an unsatisfactory USDOT safety rating. Application forms and instructions 
are available by calling the MnDOT Office of Freight and Commercial Vehicle 
Operations at 651-215-6330, fax 651-366-3718 or visiting their website at 
www.mndot.gov/cvo.

Certificate of Compliance Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Law  
Minnesota Statutes, Section 176.182 requires every state and local licensing 
agency to withhold the issuance or renewal of license or permit to operate a 
business or engage in any activity in Minnesota until the applicant presents 
acceptable evidence of compliance with the workers’ compensation insurance 
coverage requirement of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 176. The required 
workers’ compensation insurance information is the name of the insurance 
company, the policy number, and the dates of coverage, or the permit to self-
insure. If the required information is not provided or is falsely stated, it shall 
result in a $2,000 penalty assessed against the applicant by the commissioner 
of the Department of Labor and Industry.

There are six types of for-hire carriers in Minnesota:

Motor Carrier of Property (Minn. Stat. § 221.0251)

Motor Carrier of Property means a motor carrier engaged in the for-hire 
transportation of property, other than household goods, in Minnesota who 
has filed a registration statement with the commissioner.

To obtain a Motor Carrier of Property Certificate of Registration, you must:

•	 Submit a completed registration statement (no fee);
•	 Complete a certificate of Compliance Minnesota Workers’ 

Compensation Law form;
•	 Have your insurance company file, with MnDOT, the Uniform Motor 

Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of 
Insurance (Form E) with proper coverage limits: $100,000/300,000 
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Public Liability, $50,000 Property Damage (You, the Motor Carrier, are 
responsible for maintaining continuous coverage); and,

•	 Complete the online Introduction to Minnesota Trucking Regulations 
(IMCC) training within 90 days of being issued a certificate of 
registration (www.mndot.gov/cvo/imccElearning.html).

A motor carrier’s authority of this type will be suspended if the carrier:

•	 Does not maintain and file required insurance;
•	 Does not pay the annual vehicle registration fees and purchase vehicle 

ID cab cards or renew permits as required;
•	 Receives an unsatisfactory safety rating;
•	 Fails to pay an administrative penalty, if issued against the carrier;
•	 Does not comply with DOT audit, if required; and/or,
•	 Fails to maintain workers’ compensation insurance.

Household Goods Carriers (Minn. Stat. §221.121)

“Household goods” means personal effects and property used or to be used 
by the owner in the owner’s dwelling.

To obtain Household Goods Permit, you must:

•	 Submit a completed Household Goods Mover Permit application 
packet (application, Workers’ Compensation form, and the vehicle 
registration form). You will need a US DOT number to apply for this 
authority. If you do not already have a US DOT number, see Section 14 
for information on how to obtain one.

•	 Have your insurance company file, with MnDOT, the Uniform Motor 
Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of 
Insurance (Form E) with proper coverage limits: $100,000/300,000 
Public Liability, $50,000 Property Damage; and, Form H Cargo: 
minimum coverage of $50,000. (You, the Carrier, are responsible for 
maintaining continuous coverage);

•	 Complete and submit a vehicle registration form, $75.00 per vehicle 
for registration fee; and,

•	 Complete the online Introduction to Minnesota Trucking Regulations 
(IMCC) training within 90 days of being issued a Household Good 
Permit (www.mndot.gov/cvo/imccElearning.html).

http://mndot.gov/cvo/imccElearning.html
http://www.mndot.gov/cvo/imccElearning.html
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A motor carrier’s authority of this type will be suspended if the carrier:

•	 Does not maintain and file required insurance;
•	 Does not pay the annual vehicle registration fees and purchase vehicle 

ID cab cards or renew permits as required;
•	 Receives an unsatisfactory safety rating;
•	 Fails to pay an administrative penalty, if issued against the carrier;
•	 Does not comply with DOT 

audit, if required; 
•	 Fails to maintain workers’ 

compensation insurance; and
•	 Fails to renew registration.

Building Movers (Minn. Stat. § 221.81)

“Building Mover” means a person, 
corporation (private and for-hire motor carriers), or other entity who raises, 
supports off the foundation and moves buildings on or over public streets 
and highways. It does not include moving manufactured or modular homes, 
farmers moving their own farm buildings or persons moving buildings less 
than 16 feet wide by 20 feet long. 

To be licensed as a Building Mover, you must:

•	 Submit a completed application for a Building Mover License 
application packet (application, Workers’ Compensation form) 
($150.00 filing fee due at time of application);

•	 Have your insurance company file, with MnDOT, the Uniform Motor 
Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of 
Insurance (Form E) with proper coverage limits: $500,000 Motor 
Vehicle Liability, $500,000 General Liability, (Certificate of Insurance 
filing - Minn. Stat. §221.81, subd. 3(a)). (You, the Carrier, are 
responsible for maintaining continuous coverage); and,

•	 Complete and submit a vehicle registration form, $10.00 per vehicle 
for registration fee.

A building mover may not move a building on or across a street or highway 
without first obtaining a permit from the road authority having jurisdiction 
over the street or highway. Depending upon route, more than one over-
weight/over-dimension permit may be required.

Intrastate Authority Cab Card
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A motor carrier’s authority of this type 
will be suspended if the carrier:

•	 Does not maintain and file 
required insurance;

•	 Does not pay the annual vehicle 
registration fees and purchase 
vehicle ID cab cards or renew 
permits as required;

•	 Receives an unsatisfactory safety 
rating;

•	 Fails to pay an administrative penalty, if issued against the carrier;
•	 Does not comply with DOT audit, if required; and/or,
•	 Fails to maintain workers’ compensation insurance.

Motor Carriers of Passengers (Minn. Stat. § 221.0252)

“Motor Carriers of Passengers” are persons engaged in the for-hire 
transportation of passengers in vehicles designed to transport 8 or more 
passengers, including the driver. 

To obtain Intrastate Passenger Certificate of Registration, you must:

•	 Submit a completed application (application, Workers’ Compensation 
form);

•	 Have your insurance company file, with MnDOT, the Uniform Motor 
Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of 
Insurance (Form E) with proper coverage limits: $5 million (16 or more 
passengers), $1.5 million (8 to 15 passengers). (You, the Motor Carrier, 
are responsible for maintaining continuous coverage);

•	 Apply for a USDOT number at www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration (print a 
copy of your online filing and submit with your completed application);

•	 Have all Motor Carrier of Passenger vehicles inspected by a MnDOT 
Inspector or a certified annual inspector (State Patrol);

•	 Complete and submit a Vehicle Registration Form (including a copy of 
your vehicle inspection report) along with $75.00 registration fee for 
each vehicle; and,

•	 Complete the online Introduction to Minnesota Trucking Regulations 
(IMCC) training within 90 days of being issued a certificate of authority 
(www.mndot.gov/cvo/imccElearning.html).

Intrastate Motor Carrier of Passengers 
Certificate

http://www.mndot.gov/cvo/imccElearning.html
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Within 90 days, an audit will be conducted to check for compliance with the 
motor carrier safety regulations

Note: (1) Driver criminal background checks must be completed before 
transporting passengers (see Section 07). (2) “Small vehicle passenger service” 
is a service provided by a person engaged in the for-hire transportation of 
passengers in a vehicle designed to transport 7 or fewer persons including the 
driver. Small vehicle passenger service is regulated by the cities in which they 
operate and also by the Metropolitan Airport Commission.

A motor carrier’s authority of this type will be suspended if the carrier:

•	 Does not maintain and file required insurance;
•	 Does not pay the annual vehicle registration fees and purchase vehicle 

ID cab cards or renew permits as required;
•	 Receives an unsatisfactory safety rating;
•	 Fails to pay an administrative penalty, if issued against the carrier;
•	 Does not comply with DOT audit, if required; and/or,
•	 Fails to maintain workers’ compensation insurance;
•	 Fails to renew registration.

A motor carrier’s authority will be canceled for non-compliance of the 
IMCC requirement, or if the carrier does not correct any of the causes for 
suspension listed above within the required time as stated in the notice of 
suspension and Minn. Stat. § 221.185.

Limousine Permit (Minn. Stat. § 221.84 and 
Minn. Rule Chapter 8880)

“Limousine service” means a service that:

(1) is not provided on a regular route; 
(2) is provided in a luxury passenger automobile 
that has a seating capacity of not more than 15 
persons, including the driver; 
(3) provides only prearranged pickup; and 
(4) charges more than a taxicab fare for a 
comparable trip. Minnesota Limousine 

Vehicle Decal
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Minnesota Rules, Chapter 8880 defines “Luxury passenger automobile” as a 
passenger automobile that does not have a meter and:

•	 Has a chassis and wheelbase that have been stretched beyond the 
length of the manufacturer’s original specifications for the vehicle;

•	 Is a sedan that the manufacturer characterizes as a luxury automobile 
in sales or promotional material regularly distributed to the public; or

•	 Is a sedan with an original manufacturer’s suggested retail price or 
present fair market value of more than $25,000.

Luxury passenger automobile does not include a bus, pickup truck, truck, or 
taxi cab. Limousines meeting these criteria must be registered and display a 
decal. The Certificate of Registration remains in the principal place of business.

To obtain Intrastate Limousine Authority: 

•	 Submit a completed Limousine Service Permit application packet 
(application, Workers’ Compensation form). (Permit Filing Fee: 
$150.00 due at time of application);

•	 Have your insurance company file, with MnDOT, the Uniform Motor 
Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of 
Insurance (Form E) with the proper amount of insurance; minimum 
aggregate amount of $1,500,000 per accident for each limousine 
covered, $100,000 Property Damage. You, the Limousine Operator, 
are responsible for maintaining continuous insurance coverage; and,

•	 Submit a completed Vehicle Registration Form and copy of your 
Inspection Report along with $80.00 per vehicle decal fee (due at time 
of application).

A motor carrier’s authority of this type will be suspended if the carrier:

•	 Not in compliance with the insurance requirements;
•	 Willfully refused to permit an inspection;
•	 Did not pay, or make arrangements to pay, an administrative penalty, 

including costs assessed;
•	 Revocation of permit may occur if limousine operator knowingly made 

a material false or misleading statement in a permit application or 
if carrier provided limousine service while the limousine operator’s 
permit was suspended.
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A driver must meet the driver qualification requirements under Minn. Rule 
§8880.0800 including an initial criminal background check completed before 
transporting passengers for-hire in a limousine.

Special Transportation Service (Minn. Stat. § 174.29, Minn. Stat. § 174.30, 
Minn. Rule Parts 8840.5100 to 8840.6300).

Motor vehicle transportation provided on a regular basis by a public or 
private entity or person, that is designed exclusively or primarily to serve 
individuals who are elderly or disabled and who are unable to use regular 
means of transportation but do not require ambulance service, and that 
transportation is provided using, in part, by specially equipped buses, vans, 
taxis, and volunteers driving private automobiles; and, non-emergency 
medical transportation services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 17, 
that are subject to the operating standards for special transportation service 
under sections 174.29 to 174.30 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 8840, must 
first be certified by the Office of Freight and Commercial Vehicle Operations. 
Application forms and instructions are available by calling 651-215-6330.

To obtain Intrastate Special Transportation Services Authority:

•	 Begin the process to become MnDOT certified (mndot.gov/cvo/sts/
newprovider.html);

•	 Apply to become an active provider (mndot.gov/cvo/sts/newprovider.
html);

•	 Complete the online STS Provider training within 90 days of being 
issued a certificate of authority (www.mndot.gov/cvo/training/).

An annual audit will be conducted to check for compliance with driver 
qualification, driver training requirements, and criminal background checks as 
required by Minn. Stat. § 174.30, subd. 10.

http://www.mndot.gov/cvo/sts/newprovider.html
http://www.mndot.gov/cvo/sts/newprovider.html
http://www.mndot.gov/cvo/sts/newprovider.html
http://www.mndot.gov/cvo/sts/newprovider.html
http://www.mndot.gov/cvo/training/
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A motor carrier’s authority of this type will be suspended if the carrier:

•	 Fails to correct a violation within 15 days of receiving written notice;
•	 Operated a special transportation vehicle after the provider has been 

directed to remove the vehicle from service unless the defect has first 
been corrected;

•	 Used a driver or attendant after the provider has been directed by the 
commissioner to stop using the driver or attendant; 

•	 Fails to permit an inspection as provided in part 8840.5700;
•	 Fails to maintain insurance as provided in part 8840.6000; and/or
•	 Fails to pay an administrative penalty, if issued against the carrier; and
•	 Allows an individual to perform services or functions after being 

notified by the Dept. of Human Services that the individual is 
disqualified.

Revocation of the certificate of compliance may occur if a provider:

•	 Provides special transportation service after the provider’s certificate 
of compliance has been suspended or canceled; 

•	 Provider has committed a pattern of violating the standards that 
shows a willful or reckless disregard for the health and safety of 
persons who use special transportation service.

A motor carrier’s authority of this type will be canceled if the carrier:

•	 Fails to renew a certificate of compliance; 
•	 Knowingly made a material statement that was false or fraudulent; 
•	 Fails to maintain insurance after a notice of suspension was issued.

For additional information on obtaining and maintaining Minnesota Intrastate 
for-hire operating authority please visit our website at www.mndot.gov/cvo.
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Licensing and  
credentialing

Credentials Issued & Experiation

Building House Movers (New) Permit/License and cab card expires in 1 year on the 
last day of the month it was issued.

Building House Movers (Renewal) Permit/License and cab card expires in 1 year from 
the current expiration date.

Household Good Movers (New) Permit/License and cab card expires in 1 year on the 
last day of the month it was issued.

Household Good Movers (Renewal) Cab card expires in 1 year from the current 
expiration date. There is a late fee if not renewed by 
expiration date.

Limousine Carrier (New) There is no expiration date for the permit licnese 
unless revoked. Decals expire in 1 year on the last 
day of the month it was issued.

Limousine Carrier (Renewal) Decals expire in 1 year on the last day of the month 
it was issued.

Passenger (New) Certificate/license and cab card expires in 1 year on 
the last day of the month it was issued.

Passenger (Renewal) Certificate/license and cab card expires in 1 year 
from the current expiration date.

Property Carrier (New) No expiration date.

STS (New) Certificate and decal expires in 1 year on the last day 
of the month it was issued. 

STS (Renewal) Certificate expires in 1 year from the current 
expiration date.

STS (Trainers) Certiicate issued for 3 years. If teaching first aid, 
submit a copy of issued trainer or EMT license.

Waivers - All Expiration based on medical examiners 
determination. 

UCR (Renewal) Expires annually. Interstate carriers experiation is 
December 31. 

w


	Section 01 	Driver’s Checklist
	Section 02 	Vehicle Registration and Licensing
	Intrastate Registration Requirements
	International Registration Plan
	IRP and IFTA Record Keeping Requirements
	Audit

	Section 03 	Maximum Vehicle Dimensions
	Section 04 	Weight Limitations
	Section 05 	Oversize/Overweight Permits
	Section 06 	Driver Qualification Rules
	General Requirements
	Physical Qualifications for Drivers
	Driver Qualification File - DQ File

	Section 07 	Minnesota Intrastate Driver Waivers
	Section 08 	Alcohol and Drug Testing Requirements
	Program Implementation Checklist

	Section 09 	Commercial Driver’s License
	Classes of Driver Licenses
	Commercial Driver’s License Endorsements

	Section 10 	Driver’s Hours of Service
	Carriers Not Subject to Hours of Service Rules
	100 Air-Mile Radius Driver
	Record Retention

	Section 11 	Vehicle Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance
	Daily Vehicle Inspection Report
	Minnesota Annual Vehicle Inspection Program
	Out-Of-Service Vehicles

	Section 12 	Vehicle Requirements
	USDOT Number

	Section 14 	Obtaining and Maintaining Minnesota Intrastate For-Hire Operating Authority
	Motor Carriers of Property
	Household Goods Carriers
	Building Movers
	Motor Carriers of Passengers
	Limousine Permit
	Special Transportation Service

	Section 15 	Obtaining Interstate For-Hire Operating Authority
	Unified Carrier Registration Program

	Section 16 	Insurance Requirements
	Section 17 	Hazardous Materials Regulations
	Hazardous Materials Registration and Credentials
	USDOT Hazardous Materials Registration Program
	Hazardous Materials Communications
	Shipping Papers and Emergency Information
	Marking and Labeling
	Placards
	Hazardous Materials Transportation Security
	Hazardous Materials Employee Training
	Materials of Trade
	Transportation of Gasoline in Fueling/Contractor Tanks

	Section 18 	Minnesota Agency Directory
	Section 20 	Definitions
	Section 21 	Internet Resource List



