Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Congressional Update


MnDOT Metro District overview

Map of MnDOT Metro District

Metro District fact sheet (PDF)

MnDOT Metro encompasses an 8-county Twin Cities metropolitan area: Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington counties. Minnesota's two largest cities, Minneapolis and St. Paul, are located within the Metro District, along with dozens of suburban cities and townships.

The MnDOT team in Metro District plans, designs, constructs and maintains the state and federal highway systems within the district's boundaries. In addition to roads and bridges, Metro District supports 62 miles of MnPASS Express Lanes, 605 miles of rail line, 10 public airports, 110 Transit Park & Ride facilities, 16 Transit Park & Pool facilities, 5 public rest areas, and a variety of roadside infrastructure.

The 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 8th Congressional districts intersect throughout MnDOT Metro District.

Corridors of Commerce

Three large projects in Metro were funded in 2017 and 2018 by the Corridors of Commerce program that will begin construction after 2020:

  • I-494, From France Avenue to Hwy 77 eastbound and from Hwy 77 to I-35W westbound, add MnPASS lanes in both directions in Bloomington
  • I-494/I-35W, Complete Phase 1 of the I-494/I-35W turbine interchange, northbound to westbound directional ramp in Bloomington
  • Hwy 252/I-94, Convert to a freeway and add MnPASS lanes from Dowling Ave in Mpls to Hwy 610 in Brooklyn Center