Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Congressional Transportation Status Report

District 6


District 6 Overview

Map of MnDOT District 6

District 6 Fact Sheet (PDF)

The 1st and 2nd Congressional districts intersect with MnDOT District 6.

MnDOT District 6 is responsible for providing a safe and reliable transportation system that serves 11 counties in southeastern Minnesota. MnDOT District 6’s responsibilities include managing more than 1,400 centerline-miles of state highways, 825 lane-miles of interstate highways, more than 3,600 lane-miles of non-interstate roadways, 433 miles of rail line, 880 bridges, two county and two multi-county transit systems, 11 airports, two port authorities, 12 rest areas and two travel information centers.

The district supports a diverse mix of medium-sized cities and rural expanses including the growing Rochester area, with the world-renowned Mayo Clinic) and the La Crosse / La Crescent area. Agricultural land valued for crops, hogs and dairy operations dominate the western two-thirds of the district, with scenic bluff lands surrounding the Mississippi River area attracting large numbers of tourists. The district's ports and interstate highways provide accessibility and support the movement of freight and farm-to-market products.

Corridors of Commerce

The Highway 14 expansion project between Owatonna to Dodge Center in District 6 was funded in 2018 by new Corridors of Commerce funding in a transportation bonding bill. Construction timeline is to be determined, as of July 1, 2018.