Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Congressional Transportation Status Report



Area Transportation Partnerships (ATP)

MnDOT created Area Transportation Partnerships over two decades ago in response to changes in federal law that increased state flexibility and the need for public involvement in transportation planning and program decision-making. ATPs were established by each district specifically to facilitate broader input to the federal project selection process for the development of the State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP), which is a four-year program of state and local projects with federal highway and transit funding, as well as 100% state project funding. There are eight ATPs statewide.

ATP-6 includes the 11 counties of Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, and Winona.

Schedule of activities

Additional information on the District 6 ATP is available at: http://www.dot.state.mn.us/d6/atp/index.html

Toward Zero Deaths (TZD)

Toward Zero Deaths (TZD) is a multi-agency partnership led by the Minnesota Departments of Transportation, Public Safety and Health in cooperation with the FHWA, Minnesota county engineers, the Center for Transportation Studies and other traffic safety organizations. It provides an integrated approach to the application of education, engineering, enforcement and emergency medical and trauma services. The goal is to raise awareness of traffic safety issues and to develop tools that can be used to reduce the number of deaths and injuries resulting from traffic crashes in Minnesota.

The Southeastern regional partnership includes partners from the counties, Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, and Winona.

Additional information on TZD is available at: http://www.minnesotatzd.org

Metropolitan Planning Organizations:  Rochester Olmsted Regional Council of Governments (ROCOG) and La Crosse Area Planning Committee (LAPC)

MPOs have the lead responsibility for the development of a metropolitan area's transportation plans and coordinating the transportation planning process.  All urban areas over 50,000 in population are required to have an MPO if the agencies spend Federal funds on transportation improvements. 

The planning area for ROCOG includes all of Olmsted County along with the incorporated areas of Pine Island and Chatfield.

The La Crosse and La Crescent Metropolitan Planning Area includes the includes the City of La Crescent and the Townships of La Crescent and Dresbach in Minnesota.

The MPO is required to prepare a long-range (20 year horizon) transportation plan and a four-year Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). These are developed in cooperation with the state and transit operators. The TIP is updated annually and includes a prioritized list of projects and a financial plan consistent with anticipated funding. The state incorporates the approved TIP into the STIP.

Additional information about ROCOG is available at:  http://www.co.olmsted.mn.us/planning/rocog/Pages/default.aspx

Additional information about LAPC is available at: http://www.lapc.org/index.htm