Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Congressional Update


MnDOT District 3 overview

Map of MnDOT District 3

District 3 Fact Sheet (PDF)

MnDOT District 3 encompasses 13 counties in central Minnesota, extending from Cass County in the north to Wright, Sherburne and Stearns counties in the south. MnDOT District 3 is one of the most populated, fastest growing regions in greater Minnesota. Five of the top ten fastest growing counties are located here.

The 6th, 7th and 8th Congressional districts intersect with MnDOT District 3.


District 3 is committed to preserving the condition of roads, bridges and other infrastructure. The district will invest the majority of its funds over the next 10 years in roads and bridges to ensure they are maintained in a good state of repair.

Corridors of Commerce

Two large projects in District 3 were funded in 2018 by the Corridors of Commerce program that will begin construction after 2020: