Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Congressional Transportation Status Report

District 1


District 1 Overview

Map of MnDOT District 1

District 1 fact sheet (PDF)

MnDOT District 1, located in Northeastern Minnesota, includes the counties of Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Pine and St. Louis. Approximately 356,000 people live in the district which is comprised of one-fifth of the state’s total land area. The district is responsible for 4,104 lane-miles of state highways and 572 state bridges.

The major industries of northeastern Minnesota are forestry, mining, shipping and tourism, all of which rely heavily on a safe and efficient transportation system.

The top priority in District 1 is to preserve its existing transportation system by maintaining and replacing the key components. The district's construction program emphasizes pavement replacement, drainage improvements, intersection upgrades, bridge rehabilitation and replacement.

The Twin Ports Interchange project in the City of Duluth is in preliminary design and environmental analysis. This project will update aging infrastructure, improve safety, and provide benefits to freight. Find more plans and studies in District 1.