Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Congressional Transportation Status Report



Area Transportation Partnerships (ATP)

MnDOT created Area Transportation Partnerships more than two decades ago in response to changes in federal law that increased state flexibility and the need for public involvement in transportation planning and program decision-making. ATPs were established by each district specifically to facilitate broader input to the federal project selection process for the development of the State Transportation Improvement Program, which is a four-year program of state and local projects with federal highway and transit funding, as well as 100 percent state project funding. There are eight ATPs statewide.

The Northeastern Minnesota ATP includes Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Pine and St. Louis counties. It is a committee of elected officials, engineers, planners and other agency representatives from an eight-county-area of northeast Minnesota.

Additional information on the Northeastern Minnesota ATP is available at http://www.nemnatp.org/

Toward Zero Deaths (TZD)

Toward Zero Deaths is a multi-agency partnership led by the Minnesota Departments of Transportation, Public Safety and Health in cooperation with the Federal Highway Administration, Minnesota county engineers, the Center for Transportation Studies and other traffic safety organizations.

TZD provides an integrated approach to the application of education, engineering, enforcement and emergency medical and trauma services. The goal is to raise awareness of traffic safety issues and to develop tools that can be used to reduce the number of deaths and injuries resulting from traffic crashes in Minnesota.

The Northeastern Minnesota TZD Partnership includes the counties of St. Louis, Lake, Cook, Carlton, Aitkin, Itasca, Pine and Koochiching.

Additional TZD information is available at http://www.minnesotatzd.org

Metropolitan Planning Organization

Metropolitan Planning Organizations lead the development of metropolitan area transportation plans, as well as coordinate the transportation planning process. All urban areas with populations greater than 50,000 are required to have an MPO if the agencies spend federal funds on transportation improvements. 

The MPO is required to prepare a long-range (20-year horizon) transportation plan and a four-year Transportation Improvement Program. These are developed in cooperation with the state and transit operators. The TIP is updated annually and includes a prioritized list of projects and a financial plan consistent with anticipated funding. The state incorporates the approved TIP into the State Transportation Improvement Program.

Duluth-Superior Metropolitan Interstate Council

The Duluth/Superior Metropolitan Interstate Council’s planning area encompasses 617 square miles within St. Louis and Douglas counties in Minnesota and Wisconsin. In Minnesota it includes the cities of Duluth, Hermantown and Proctor and the townships of Canosia, Duluth, Grand Lake, Lakewood, Midway, Rice Lake and Solway. In Wisconsin it includes the city of Superior, the townships of Lakeside, Parkland and Superior and the villages of Oliver and Superior.

The MIC is the designated MPO for this area and is advised by a Technical Advisory Committee. The TAC’s purpose is to advise the Metropolitan Interstate Council in transportation-related matters including, but not limited to, the development of transportation plans and programs, preparation of the transportation portion of work programs and study designs, and review transportation projects submitted by the MIC. District 1 staff sit on the MIC TAC.

Additional information on the MIC is available at: http://www.dsmic.org/

Tribal Relationships

District 1 has a close working relationship with all three tribes within its boundaries — Bois Forte, Grand Portage and Fond du Lac. MnDOT meets with these tribes annually to discuss transportation. A member from all three tribes also sits on the ATP.

Regional Transportation Advisory Committee

District 1 is an active member of the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee (RTAC). The RTAC is a forum for transportation and elected officials from the Arrowhead Region to discuss regional transportation issues and set regional priorities.

Arrowhead Regional Development Commission

The Arrowhead Regional Development Commission (ARDC) is a multi-disciplined planning and development organization serving the Northeast Minnesota counties of Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis. Regional Development Commissions (RDCs) were established by Minnesota State Statute in 1969. 

The purposes of the RDCs outlined in the Regional Development Act are to assist in multijurisdictional issues, coordinate resources to meet jurisdictional needs and coordinate planning activities within the specific regions.

ARDC works closely with MnDOT and provides staffing and planning assistance for several MnDOT initiatives.