Governor's Council on Connected and Automated Vehicles Charter

Outlining the Council's vision, mission, goals, shared values, and priorities

Vision

Building a future of transportation that is safe, equitable, accessible, efficient, healthy, and sustainable.

Mission

The Governor's Council on Connected and Automated Vehicles collaborates with stakeholders, partners with academic institutions and private industry, and engages communities to prepare Minnesota for a future with emerging transportation technologies.

Safety

Equity

Innovation

Reliability

Livability

CAV Goals

- Safely test and deploy connected and automated vehicles (CAV)
- Promote access to transportation for all users
- Equip Minnesota's workforce to adapt, transition, and benefit from a CAV-based transportation system
- Design a clear legal and regulatory environment
- Work with other levels of government
- Promote healthy sustainable communities through transportation technology
- Invest in a system that inclusively meets the needs of all multi-modal users

Shared Values

- 1. **Equity**: Advance policies that promote transportation equity
- 2. Mobility and accessibility: Promote inclusive policies that meet the needs of all users
- 3. **Trust:** Uphold the public's interest with clarity and transparency. Understand community concerns about CAV technology and incorporate feedback into policy
- 4. **Public Health, Safety, and Environment**: Protect safety and active transportation like walking and biking and healthy communities. Advance technology and policy that minimize environmental impacts
- 5. Multi-Modal Efficiency: Support transit, freight and other modes. Guard against increased congestion
- 6. **Readiness**: Prepare our workforce, government, and businesses for the changes that technology will bring. Test and pilot technologies to ensure they meet the needs of all Minnesotans.

2020 Priorities

Industry and research partnerships

Education, outreach, engagement and demonstrations/pilots

Equity, mobility, accessibility, public health and environment

2021-2024 Priorities

- 1. Industry and research partnerships
- 2. Infrastructure investment
- 3. Law for safe testing and deployment
- 4. Education, outreach, engagement and demonstrations/pilots to educate communities and decision-makers
- 5. Economic and workforce development
- 6. Data privacy and cyber security
- 7. Insurance and liability
- 8. Alignment with other states and the federal government and sharing best practices
- 9. Human factors and impacts of CAV on users

Advisory Council Members

- Margaret Anderson Kelliher, Co-Chair Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Transportation
- Amber Backhaus Automobile Dealers Association
- **Dan Chen** 3M
- Ryan Daniel St. Cloud Metropolitan Transit
- Jacob Frey (Represented by Robin Hutchinson) City of Minneapolis
- Michael Gorman Split Rock Partners
- John Hauslauden Minnesota Trucking Association
- Phil Magney, Co-Chair VSI Labs
- Laurie McGinnis University of Minnesota Center for Transportation Studies
- Myrna Peterson Mobility Mania
- Edward Reynoso Teamsters Joint Council
- Damien Riehl –Fastcase Legal Research Platform
- Vicky Rizzolo American Family Insurance
- Patrick Weldon Polaris

Ex Officio Members

- **Tina Folch** League of Minnesota Cities
- Jason Gadd League of Minnesota Cities
- Alice Roberts-Davis Department of Administration
- Thom Peterson Department of Agriculture
- Steve Kelley (Represented by Anne O'Connor) Department of Commerce
- Steve Grove Department of Employment and Economic Development
- Jan Malcolm (Represented by Emily Smoak) Department of Health
- Anthony Lourey Department of Human Services
- Mark Phillips (Represented by Jason Metsa) Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Department
- **Commissioner John Harrington** Department of Public Safety
- Cynthia Bauerly Department of Revenue
- Commissioner Tarek Tomes MNIT Services
- Commissioner Laura Bishop (Represented by Todd Biewen) Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
- Wayne Sandberg County Representative of Association of Minnesota Counties
- Laurie Beyer-Kropuenske
 Interim Executive Director of Minnesota Council on Disability
- Rep. Connie Bernardy Majority Party Representative for Minnesota House of Representatives
- Sen. Scott Newman Majority Party Representative for Minnesota Senate
- Sen. Scott Dibble Minority Party Representative for Minnesota Senate
- Chairwoman Cathy Chavers Minnesota Indian Affairs Council
- Charlie Zelle Chair, Met Council