Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Connected and Automated Vehicles

CAV Advisory Council

In April 2019 Governor Walz issued an executive order (PDF), appointing a Connected and Automated Vehicles Advisory Council to study, assess, and prepare for the opportunities and challenges associated with the widespread adoption of connected and automated vehicles (CAV) and other transportation technologies. The members serve from October 2019 to April 2023.

Governor’s Advisory Council Annual Report

The Governor’s Advisory Council releases reports each year that detail Minnesota’s readiness for CAV technology and outlines efforts made in the state over the year to reach CAV goals.

Meet the Advisory Council

Back row from left: Mark Phillips, Anne O’Connor, Patrick Weldon, Michael Gorman, Amber Backhaus, Laurie McGinnis, Former Commissioner Margaret Anderson Kelliher, Phil Magney, John Hausladen, Mayor Tina Folch, Damien Riehl, Senator Scott Dibble, Vicky Rizzolo, Todd Biewen. Front row from left to right: Dan Chen, Robin Hutchinson, Commissioner Alice Roberts-Dais, Representative Connie Bernardy, Joan Willshire, Emily Smoak.


  • Nancy Daubenberger, Co-Chair – Commissioner, Department of Transportation
  • Amber Backhaus – Automobile Dealers Association
  • Dan Chen – 3M
  • Ryan Daniel – St. Cloud Metropolitan Transit
  • Jacob Frey (Represented by Danielle Elkins) – City of Minneapolis
  • Michael Gorman – Split Rock Partners
  • John Hausladen – Minnesota Trucking Association
  • Phil Magney, Co-Chair – VSI Labs
  • Myrna Peterson – Mobility Mania
  • Damien Riehl – Fastcase Legal Research Platform
  • Vicky Rizzolo – American Family Insurance
  • Bret Weiss - WSB
  • Patrick Weldon – Polaris
  • Kyle Shelton - University of Minnesota Center for Transportation Studies

Ex Officio members

  • Mayor Jason Gadd – League of Minnesota Cities
  • Councilmember Tina Folch - League of Minnesota Cities
  • Commissioner Alice Roberts-Davis – Department of Administration
  • Commissioner Thom Peterson – Department of Agriculture
  • Commissioner Grace Arnold – Department of Commerce Commissioner
  • Commissioner Steve Grove – Department of Employment and Economic Development
  • Commissioner Jan Malcolm (Represented by Emily Smoak) – Department of Health
  • Commissioner Jodi Harpstead – Department of Human Services
  • Commissioner Mark Phillips (Represented by Jason Metsa) – Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Department
  • Commissioner John Harrington (Represented by Tim Lynaugh) – Department of Public Safety
  • Commissioner Paul Marquart (Represented by Alex Hevern) – Department of Revenue
  • Commissioner Tarek Tomes – MNIT Services
  • Commissioner Katrina Kessler (Represented by Todd Biewen) – Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
  • Wayne Sandberg – County Representative of Association of Minnesota Counties
  • David Dively – Executive Director of Minnesota Council on Disability
  • Rep. Connie Bernardy – Majority Party Representative for Minnesota House of Representatives
  • Sen. Scott Newman – Majority Party Representative for Minnesota Senate
  • Sen. Scott Dibble – Minority Party Representative for Minnesota Senate
  • Chairwoman Cathy Chavers – Minnesota Indian Affairs Council
  • Charlie Zelle - Chair, Met Council
  • Rep. Steve Elkins - Minnesota House of Representatives


Executive Order 19-18 (PDF), which established the CAV Advisory Council, outlines several priorities for its members, including:

  • Study, assess, and prepare for the opportunities and challenges that CAV may bring
  • Review CAV developments and trends
  • Explore partnership opportunities
  • Propose policies to safely test and deploy CAV
  • Implement recommendation from the 2018 Advisory Council’s Executive Report
  • Consult with communities experiencing transportation barriers not represented on the Council
  • Prepare an annual report to the Governor by Feb. 1, 2020 addressing Council activities and actions needed to ensure Minnesota is advancing CAV
  • Advise and support the Governor, MnDOT, the Department of Public Safety, and local government to support the safe testing and deployment of CAV


Meeting materials

December 8, 2022
September 28, 2022
June 15, 2022
March 16, 2022
December 8, 2021
September 15, 2021
July 14, 2021
April 14, 2021
Jan. 13, 2021
Dec. 16, 2020
Sept. 25, 2020
May 26, 2020
Feb. 18, 2020
Jan. 22, 2020
Dec. 13, 2019

Minnesota CAV Innovation Alliance

In May 2020, the Governor’s Advisory Council on CAV established the CAV Innovation Alliance to coordinate statewide CAV related efforts. The Alliance is comprised of five committees who will coordinate and prioritize activities in the following areas:

  • Safety and Law Enforcement
  • Connectivity & Data
  • Infrastructure Investment
  • Labor and Workforce Development
  • Outreach & Education


The CAV Innovation Alliance is made up of members from broad range of industries. Current members includes but is not limited to representatives from universities and technical colleges, private industry, non-profits, and government. If you would like to learn more about how you and your organization can get involved with the CAV Innovation Alliance please contact Tara Olds at tara.olds@state.mn.us.