Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Aeronautics and Aviation

Fly Minnesota!

Adopt an Airport logo graphic


Minnesota Adopt-An-Airport promotes the airports
and give recognition to the volunteers.

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT),office of Aeronautics has a program for airports and their communities called Adopt-An-Airport. Any public-use airport in Minnesota is eligible to participate in the program. It provides a means by which communities may become involved in their local airports and assist in the maintenance and beautification of airport facilities.

Local Civic Community Groups
or Individuals Can Adopt the Airport

Which means they volunteer their time to assist the airport manager or operator with activities mutually agreed upon.

  • The Minnesota Adopt-An-Airport program promotes increased awareness of the advantages and economic impacts that airports have on their cities.
  • Adopt-An-Airport Program is a means to educate the community.
  • Helps the communities to learn about aviation and aviation careers.
  • Allows them to to learn what activities take place at an airport.
  • Both the airport and its volunteer groups receive signs indicating their participation in the program.
  • The signs can be placed in a conspicuous location such as the entrance to the airport.
  • The signs serve to promote the program to the public and give recognition to the volunteer groups.

Adopt-An-Airport Volunteers

The Adopt-An-Airport signs used to promote
Cook Municipal Airport.
Volunteers sitting and holding Adopt-An-Airport Signs at the Cook Municipal Airport

Airports Participating

  • Aitkin
  • Alexandria
  • Anoka
  • Benson
  • Buffalo
  • Canby
  • Cloquet /Carlton County
  • Cook
  • Crookston
  • Duluth - International
  • Elbow
  • Lake Fairmont
  • Faribault
  • Grand Rapids
  • Hector
  • Hutchinson
  • Longville
  • Luverne
  • Mankato
  • McGregor
  • Milaca
  • Moose Lake
  • Orr
  • Princeton
  • Red Wing
  • Rushford
  • Silver Bay
  • South St. Paul
  • St. Cloud
  • Tower
  • Two Harbors
  • Warroad
  • Willmar
  • Winona
  • Worthington